Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspapers and Other Periodicals
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (BETA)
- Chronicling America is a prototype web site providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program. Included in the site is a full-text database providing access to pages from 25 newspapers from six states and the District of Columbia published between 1900 and 1910. The project will continue to add content until newspapers from every U.S. state are included.
- Directory of New Jersey Newspapers, 1765-1970 / edited by William C. Wright, Paul A. Stellhorn. - Trenton: New Jersey Historical Commission, 1977. - xxi, 319 p. : facsim. ; 26 cm. - Includes index. - Call Number: REF Z6952.N54D57
- A useful compilation of the newspapers published in New Jersey from the colonial period through 1970, organized by place of publication. Somewhat dated, but still a good source to use for identifying historical newspapers and the libraries that own them.
- National Digital Newspaper Program
- The National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of all U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Supported by NEH, this rich digital resource will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress. An NEH grant program will fund the contribution of content from, eventually, all U.S. states and territories.
- New York Times Archive Search (1851-1922) and Current File Search (1980-Present)
- Index to the New York Times. Can also be used to identify relevant articles for the period from 1923 through 1979, with access to the newspaper available on microfilm in the Library's Periodicals Deaprtment.
- Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective, 1890-1982
- Access to citations from over 3 million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines spanning the period from 1890 to 1982. Includes articles from the most widely read popular periodicals of the day, journals of news and opinion, and a selection of research publications. PLEASE NOTE that this database includes citations to over 11,000 items published between 1914 and 1922 pertaining to World War I, including MANY items that would be difficult to identify in other sources. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.
- Unz.org's Periodical Archive
- This privately-funded digital archive of periodicals includes over 20 major titles from the World War I era, available in full-text and fully-searchable. An excellent place to check for topics that call for the use of contemporary magazines and journals of opinion.
- U.S. News Archives on the Web (News Division, Special Libraries Association)
- This directory is organized by state, focusing on newspapers that maintain archives of older content online. Where possible, the directory indicates how far back content is available, along with any costs to retrieve the full text of articles.