This database covers historical scholarship on the history of the modern world (excluding the United States and Canada), focusing on the 15th century forward. It includes citations and abstracts for articles from over 2,600 journals with coverage extending back to 1955. Many records now contain links to full-text articles in other Library databases. Most important articles on the history of the First World War in Europe and the rest of the world - except for the United States and Canada - should be indexed in this database. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.
Bibliographic database contains over 400,000 citations and abstracts for journal and magazine articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations covering the world's scholarly literature about the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes material from over 2,100 journals and magazines written in over 40 languages, although the majority of items were published in English. Most of the items in the database were published after 1959. Many records now contain links to full-text articles in other Library databases. Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.
OTHER Potentially Useful Databases (and note that the he Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective, 1890-1982 can also be used to find primary sources):
Large, interdisciplinary full-text database contains over 4,800 full-text publications, including academic journals, magazines, books, and trade publications. Offers broad subject coverage for a variety of disciplines, including anthropology, area studies, biology, chemistry, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, law, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and many other fields. It is recommended you include the expression "SU History" when searching the database to obtain focused results. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.
The JSTOR electronic journal archive includes full-text backfiles for several major scholarly journals in history, education, and sociology. The collection can be searched or browsed. From the opening screen, select appropriate subject collections from the list of disciplines before entering your search terms. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.
ProQuest Central is a large multidisciplinary database indexing over 14,000 publications, the majority of them available in full text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, and more. The publications include over 6,500 scholarly journals, over 3,600 trade publications, over 2,000 magazines and newspapers, and over 800 industry reports, plus dissertations and theses, company annual reports, and videos. Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.
Access to citations from over 3 million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines spanning the period from 1890 to 1982. Includes articles from the most widely read popular periodicals of the day, journals of news and opinion, and a selection of research publications. PLEASE NOTE that this database includes citations to over 11,000 items published between 1914 and 1922 pertaining to World War I, including MANY items that would be difficult to identify in other sources.Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.
This bibliographic database covers the core disciplines in women’s studies, including sociology, history, political science and economy, public policy, international relations, arts and humanities, business and education. Sources indexed include journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites and web documents, and grey literature. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
