Skip to main content

HIST2600: Historical Methods (World War I Era Focus): Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionary of American Diplomatic History, 2nd Edition, Revised and Expanded / John E. Findling. - New York : Greenwood Press, 1989. - xxxiii, 674 p. : ill. ; 24 cm. - Call Number: REF E183.7.F5
Good treatment of personages, events, and organizations. Findling stresses not only the who, what, where, and how but also states the significance of the aforementioned entrants. The weak point of the work is the short treatment given to concepts such as containment, the Monroe Doctrine, and the Cold War. Approximately 1,200 entries. [Choice]


Dictionary of American Foreign Affairs / Stephen A. Flanders, Carl N. Flanders; cartography by Thomas Nast. - New York: Macmillan; Toronto: Maxwell Macmillan Canada; New York: Maxwell Macmillan International, 1993. - xiii, 833 p. : ill., maps ; 26 cm. - Includes bibliographical references (p. 813-826). - Call Number: REF E183.7.F58
Wide-ranging volume "encompasses space, technological, and environmental matters as well as the more traditional issues of diplomatic, military, intelligence, and economic affairs. The main section is an alphanumeric listing of prominent names, significant events, treaties, and organizations that have affected American foreign relations." [Choice]


Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy / Alexander DeConde, Richard Dean Burns, and Fredrik Logevall. - 2nd ed. New York: Scribner, 2002. - 3 v. ; 29 cm; Includes bibliographical references and index.; v. 1. A-D -- v. 2. E-N -- v. 3. O-W, Index. - Call Number: REF E183.7.E52
This three-volume reference contains original essays from scholars who seek to illuminate rather than define issues, and it treats 121 broad themes. There are essays reflecting issues ranging from the end of the Cold War to science and technology as well as matters not extensively considered (e.g., "African-Americans," "Gender"). The essays incorporate both recent events and historiographical interpretation. Sidebars, cross-references, and substantial bibliographic entries at the end of each essay enhance the value of this work. [Choice]


Encyclopedia of the American Military: Studies of the History, Traditions, Policies, Institutions, and Roles of the Armed Forces in War and Peace / John E. Jessup. - New York; Toronto: Scribner's; Maxwell Macmillan Canada, 1994. - John E. Jessup, editor in chief, Louise B. Ketz, executive editor.; 9403; 3 v; Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF UA23.E56
This three-volume work provides overviews of the major military engagements of the U.S. and also treats issues that have transformed the armed forces: the role of women in the modern military, personnel management, education and training, and the military-industrial complex. The expertly written, substantive essays essays range in length from 20 to 50 pages, and most conclude with an excellent bibliography. The editors provide a wealth of information that can be difficult for researchers to find outside of Department of Defense publications, and the treatment and organization should be suitable for all levels of academe. [Choice]


Encyclopedia of U.S. Foreign Relations / senior editors, Bruce W. Jentleson, Thomas G. Paterson. - New York: Oxford University Press, 1997. - 4 v. : ill., maps ; 29 cm. - Includes bibliographical references (v. 4, p. 413-426) and index. - Call Number: REF E183.7.E53
1,024 articles by 373 scholars and foreign policy analysts covering a wide range of subjects. The majority of articles are brief (less than 1,000 words), but there are also 217 articles that range up to 5,000 words and 51 that run to 10,000. The volumes are enhanced by a clear and concise introduction that explains key ways of understanding foreign relations, defines eight distinct periods in US diplomatic history, and articulates five core goals that have been the foundation of US foreign policy.


The Encyclopedia of World War I: A Political, Social, and Military History / Edited by Spencer C. Tucker and Priscilla Roberts. - Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2005. - 5 v. (xlviii, 1661 p.) : ill., maps ; 29 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF D510.E53
"This five-volume resource constitutes the most comprehensive encyclopedic overview of WWI to appear thus far. It treats the war's causes, course, and battles, and its social, political, and cultural impact. Except for three introductory essays, all entries are listed alphabetically. Each ends with see also references and its own bibliography, giving the reader gateways for further investigation. A subject cross-reference listing at the end of volume 5 enhances accessibility. Entries on controversial issues - among them the sinking of the Lusitania, the Schlieffen Plan, and the combat performance of African American troops - have "historical controversy" insets. Approximately a third of the entries are biographical, including essays on several figures (Adolf Hitler among them) that were to be central in WWII. Appendixes at the end of volume 4 include a chronology of major events and a glossary of terms. Volume 5 consists of core primary source documents, arranged chronologically, that relate to the origins and course of the war and the Paris Peace Conference." [Choice]


The European Powers in the First World War: An Encyclopedia / ed. by Spencer C. Tucker with Laura Matysek Wood and Justin D. Murphy. - New York: Garland Pub., 1996 - xxix, 783 p. ; 27 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF D510.E97
This one-volume reference work "concentrates on European aspects of the conflict. Of its more than 600 alphabetically arranged entries, just over 50 percent are biographies of individuals. Here the volume shows its greatest strength, with brief but interesting entries on a nice variety of minor and major figures. In addition, weapons systems, battles, institutions, origins, and outcomes are presented. There are also essays on the nations that participated as well as cultural trends in art, literature, and music. Each entry has a brief bibliography and is cross-referenced." [Choice]


The United States in the First World War: An Encyclopedia / ed. by Anne Cipriano Venzon with Paul L. Miles. - New York: Garland Pub., 1995 - xx, 830 p. : map ; 26 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF D510.U65
"This book provides quick reference and bibliographic information concerning the political, economic, social, military, and diplomatic aspects of US involvement in WWI. It covers the entire 1914-18 period including American neutrality and belligerency. The entries treat organizations, events, and persons and are arranged alphabetically. Each is signed by the contributor and appends a list of relevant monographs and printed document sources, making this source very helpful for undergraduates and beginning graduate students. The length varies from a half page to 13 pages (for the Paris Peace Conference) depending on the significance of the topic. There is a name-subject index and ample see also references. This source is particularly strong for military aspects of American belligerency in the 1917-18 period. Each of the most active American combat divisions has its own entry (under "United States Army"). There are no statistical tables." [Choice]


Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website