Skip to main content

HIST2600: Historical Methods (World War I Era Focus): Geographical Resources, Maps and Atlases

Geographical Resources

Atlas of African-American History / James Ciment, and Facts on File, Inc. - New York: Facts on File, 2001. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF E185.C55


Atlas of American History / by Gary B. Nash and Carter Smith. - New York: Facts on File, 2007. - Includes bibliographical references (p. 319-320) and index. - Call Number: REF E179.5 .N37
"Some 200 full-color maps and numerous photographs and charts reveal the history of America in ten parts: "Three Worlds Meet, Beginnings to 1607," "Colonization and Settlement, 1492-1760," "Revolution and New Nation, 1761-1812," "Expansion and Reform, 1790-1855," "Civil War and Reconstruction, 1856-1869," "The Development of the Industrial United States, 1870-1899," "The Emergence of Modern America, 1900-1928," "The Great Depression and World War II, 1929-1945," "Postwar United States, 1946-1968," and "The Contemporary United States, 1969-Present." The thesis of the atlas is that maps are an indispensable part of the study of American history. Some of these maps and charts are unusual, e.g., "Flight Paths of Hijacked Airlines on September 11, 2001." Drawn in a clear, simple style and combined with narrative, they illustrate social, political, historical, economic, and cultural data." [Choice]


David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
The historical map collection has over 36,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.


GIS for History
GIS for History, launched in 2008, is a project of the University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC). It is supported by a "We the People" grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (grant number EE-50023-04, "Bringing Historical Census Data Alive with GIS"). The goal of the project is to create and share history curriculum materials and lesson plans using historical census data and primary source on-line documents, within a web-based GIS. In this way we hope to make the historical census data accessible to a much wider audience of history students of all ages, and to help teachers put these data into context for their students.


Historical Atlas of the Vietnam War / Harry G. Summers. - Boston: Houghton Mifflin Co., 1995. - Introduction and epilogue by Stanley Karnow.; Includes bibliographical references (p. 214-215) and index. - Call Number: REF DS557.7.S93


Historical GIS Projects and Programs (from the Historical GIS Clearinghouse and Forum)
A directory of important historical GIS projects on the web.


National Historical Geographic Information System / Created and maintained by the Minnesota Population Center, University of Minnesota.
The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2000.


Spatial History Project (Stanford University)
The Spatial History Lab at Stanford University is a place for a collaborative community of scholars to engage in creative visual analysis to further research in the field of history. In addition to its publications, the Lab also produces spatial history resources including tutorials for common tasks and specific project methodologies. All that it creates — including tools, data, and lessons learned — is intended for the scholarly commons to be added to, subtracted from, reworked, and recombined. The site features numerous project-related visualizations and downloadable data sets.


Voting America: United States Politics, 1840-2008 / Created and maintained by Andrew J. Torget at the University of Richmond and others at the Digital Scholarship Lab at the University of Richmond
"Voting America: United States Politics, 1840-2008, examines presidential elections in the United States, taking nearly full advantage of the strengths of the digital medium. Using a variety of cinematic and interactive maps, Voting America attempts to uncover trends in voting and politics with visualizations of election data. While including the state level results, Voting America looks beyond the Electoral College, even arguing that a state view can give a misleading impression of only red states and blue states. However, this project does not simply provide scripted analysis. Interactive features allow and encourage further exploration of the election data."


The West Point Atlas of American Wars / Chief editor: Vincent J. Esposito. With an introductory letter by Dwight D. Eisenhower. - New York: Praeger, 1959. - 2 v. col. maps 27 x 37 cm. - Includes bibliographies. - Call Number: OVERSIZE G1201.S1U5
Battlefield and strategic maps covering U.S. military history through the middle of the 20th century.


Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website