Skip to main content

HIST2600: Historical Methods (World War I Era Focus): Library Catalogs

Search Terms for Primary Sources

To find primary sources in library catalogs, the following search terms - coupled with your subject terms - are among the most useful:

  • Anecdotes
  • Archives
  • Biography
  • caricatures and cartoons
  • case studies
  • Catalogs
  • comic books, strips
  • correspondence
  • description and travel
  • diaries
  • documentary films
  • exhibitions
  • interviews
  • manuscripts
  • maps
  • notebooks, sketchbooks
  • personal narratives
  • photography
  • pictorial works
  • portraits
  • public opinion
  • songs and music
  • sources
  • speeches
  • statistics
  • statues

Library Catalogs

Cheng Library Catalog
Contents of the Cheng Library's collection.


JerseyCat
Search other library catalogs in New Jersey.


WorldCat
WorldCat is the world's largest and most comprehensive union catalog, currently featuring over 271 million bibliographic records that represent more than 1 billion individual items held by participating institutions. WorldCat includes records for books, videos, serial publications, articles, recorded books and music, electronic books, sheet music, genealogical references, cultural artifacts, digital objects, Web sites and much more. The cataloged works span thousands of years and nearly every form of human expression, with materials in over 470 languages from 112 countries and territories.


Some Other Sources of Books

Google Books (Advanced Book Search Screen)
Access to thousands of twentieth century titles in the public domain (i.e., with copyright dates of 1922 or earlier).


Hathi Trust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. There are more than sixty partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide. The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations. A substantial part of the collections accessible through the digital library are in the public domain and accessible, but not all of it, so be aware of this if you search it.


Internet Archive: E-Books and Texts
Over 3 million scanned texts public domain, including many twentieth century titles and a substantial collection of U.S. Government Documents.


Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website