Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Other California Sources
Law Help California
Provides low income California with easy online access to basic legal resources and attorney information.
Your Public Law Library
Links to Self Help Resources, Mini Research Class, Directory of California County Law Libraries, Legal Links, and Ask Now (a law librarian service that lets you ask questions and get answers, in real time).
A free online application that will fill out court forms for you by asking you simple questions and putting your answers on the forms in the correct place.
California Dept. of Consumer Affairs' Legal Guides
Subjects include contractors, contracts, retail, and tenant-landlord.
Los Angeles County Bar Association's Community and Legal Services
The Los Angeles County Bar Association (LACBA) is dedicated to increasing people's access to justice. Their goal is to help people obtain the legal assistance they need to resolve a problem before formal legal action is taken. To accomplish this, the LSCBA provides a number of community legal services to the public for a modest fee or for free in some cases.
Law School Clinics
Not all law schools provide clinical assistance to the public. Go to the law school's clinical page to find out more about the school's programs.
USC Small Business Clinic
The USC Law Small Business Clinic (SBC) provides basic corporate legal assistance to small businesses, entrepreneurs and non-profit organizations that cannot afford to pay market rates for legal services.
Disability Legal Rights Center
An independent non-profit public interest law office located on the Loyola Law School campus and a satellite office on the University Of La Verne College Of Law that provides free legal services to persons with disabilities.
East Bay Community Law Center
Since its founding in 1988 by law students at UC Berkeley's Boalt Hall School of Law, EBCLC has become the largest provider of free legal services in the East Bay and a nationally-recognized poverty law clinic.
Sunday Free Legal Clinic
The Sunday Free Legal Clinic is a partnership between Temple Isaiah, First AME Church, UCLA Law School, and Public Counsel. The Clinic runs every other Sunday from 10 AM to 1:00 PM. It serves every client who walks through the door regardless of income or type of legal problem.
California Courts Self-Help Centers
Launched in 2001 by the California Judicial Council, the California Courts Self-Help Center is designed to provide the types of legal information needed by the majority of self-represented litigants. A Spanish version was made available in 2003 and information is now also available in Chinese, Korean, and Vietnamese.
Help From Your Court
Links to self-help centers, held in or near superior courts, staffed by attorneys and other legal personnel to provide information and education to self-represented litigants.
Family Law Facilitators
A family law facilitator is an attorney licensed to practice in California who has been appointed by the superior court of a California county. Each superior court is required to maintain an Office of the Family Law Facilitator to assist self-represented persons, regardless of income, with issues of child support, spousal support, and health insurance.
Small Claims Advisors
From this page, use the pull-down menu to locate your court location to find out more about the services available in your area. There are links on the right to other small calims topics.
Protection from Abuse
Links to introduction to restraining orders, child abuse, domestic violence, civil harassment restraining orders, elder or dependent adult abuse, violence at work (how to get a restraining order), and where to find someone to help you.
Includes information on conservatorships, elder abuse, and other help for seniors.
Child Custody Mediation Video, Domestic Violence Videos, Divorce, Separation, Annulment Videos, and Conservatorship Video.
Alphabetical list of legal terms and phrases.
State Bar of California
The State Bar of California's Public Services page includes links to guides, tips, attorney search, and other helpful information.
Consumer Information Pamphlets
Titles include "How Can I Find and Hire the Right Lawyer?," "What Should I Know About Divorce and Custody?," "What Are My Rights as an Employee?"
Topics include Family, Housing, Health Care, Wills, Trust, Estates, Immigration, and Criminal Justice.
The Attorney Search form is at the bottom of this page. You can search by attorney name (including similarly sounding names) or bar number. Use the Advanced Search to limit by middle name, law firm, location, cert. legal speciality, and languages spoken.
California Self-Help Guides
Legal Information Reference Center (UCLA subscription)
Provides online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books and contains more than 310 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. Many of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.
Locating the Law, 5th edition
A handbook for non-law librarians, but includes helpful chapters for others interested in California Law, How to Read a Legal Citation, Assisting Self-Represented Litigants in California, and a Bibliography of Self-Help Resources (arranged by subject).
Public Counsel's Appellate Law Program
Public Counsel's Appellate Law Program helps pro se litigants better represent themselves in their civil matters and provides pro bono representation in selected cases. The Program operates two clinics, one for civil appeals and one for federal district court cases.
County Law Library Classes & Clinics
This is just a sampling of classes offered by local county law libraries. Use the "Find Your . . . " link (from the Your Public Law Library site) to locate your local county law library. Then look for links to current events, trainings, classes, or clinics.
Self-Help Online Resources