Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Legal Resources: Federal Administrative Law

Regulations: More Sources

OpenRegulations.org

This site is an alternative interface to the federal government's Regulations.gov site. The aim is to present a simplified and easy-to-use index of federal register notices, including notices of proposed rulemaking. Offers an individual RSS feed for each federal agency.

Regulations.gov

Researchers can find federal proposed and final rules and submit comments through the Web site to the agencies on proposed rules that are open for public comment. Users can also find other types of documents open for public comment, such as agency significant guidance.

LII's Code of Federal Regulations

Links to the most recent version of the CFR placed on the Internet by the GPO. May retrieve sections by citation (title & section) or browse by title. There is also a link (on the right) to the LII index of all section headings, which is recommended as a first search.

FindLaw's Code of Federal Regulations 

May search by keyword or by section. Go to the Federal Register to find rules not yet added to the CFR and/or finalized by federal agencies or executive departments. The Federal Register publishes all rules, proposed rules, and noticies made by federal agencies, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.

LexisNexis Academic Universe (UC)

Go to the Search, Legal page and click on "Federal & State Codes." Open the "Sources" drop-down menu (under the search box) and select either the Code of Regulations (current within 2 weeks of publication) or the Federal Register (from July, 1, 1980 through current).

HeinOnline (UCLA)

UCLA is a subscriber, so please click on the "Subscribers Click Here to Enter" in the green bar at the top of the screen. Includes the following 2 libraries.

Link to related guide

Regulations

e-CFR

The e-CFR is an editorial compilation of CFR material and Federal Register amendments produced by the National Archives and Records Administration's Office of the Federal Register (OFR) and the Government Printing Office. The OFR updates the material in the e-CFR on a daily basis.

GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys):

GPO provides online access to the full text of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), the Federal Register, and the List of CFR Sections Affected (LSA). Links and brief descriptions are provided below.

Presidential Materials

The American Presidency Project

This project was established in 1999 as a collaboration between John Woolley and Gerhard Peters at the University of California, Santa Barbara. The Document Archive contains over 86,000 documents related to the study of the presidency and includes the Messages and Papers of the Presidents (Washington to Taft, 1789-1913), The Public Papers of the President (Hoover to Bush, 1929-1993), as well as thousands of other documents such as party platforms, candidates' remarks, formal farewell addresses, and much more.

The White House Briefing Room's Presidential Actions

Includes recent Executive Orders, Presidential Memoranda, and Proclamations.

Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders (via NARA)
Provides access to the edited and re-arranged text of Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders from April 13, 1945 to January 20, 1989. It offers in once convenient reference source proclamations and Executive orders with general applicability and continuing effect. This page also include a link to the Executive Orders Disposition Tables, which begins with E.O. 7532, January 8, 1937 to present, and includes title, signature date, Federal Register citation, and detailed history of amendments and revocations.

FDsys’ Compilation of Presidential Documents
The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents, which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. From 1993 to present.

Presidential Signing Statements (2001-present)

Joyce Green's site identifies all signing statements from 2001 and is updated daily. There are links to the latest signing statement, a list of laws subjected to signing statements (2001-present) and a helpful page called FAQs re: signing statements.

Signed Under Protest: A Database of Presidential Signing Statements, 2001-2009 (Version 2.0)

This paper is available on SSRN. Written by Neil Kinkopf and Peter M. Shane, it updates the authors' 2007 compilation of Bush 43 Administration signing statements that objected on constitutional grounds to one or more provisions of the laws President Bush was signing. This paper offers what is now a complete compilation for both the first and the second Bush 43 Administrations.

GPO's FDsys:

Access the Budget of the United States Government, the Economic Report of the President, the Federal Register (which includes executive orders and proclamations), the Public Papers of the President, State of the Union Addresses, and the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents.

Presidential Materials: Subscription databases

Related resources

University of Virginia Library, Government Information Resources, Administrative Decisions & Other Actions—By Agency
This page links to other administrative actions that are outside the scope of the CFR or the FR. Alphabetical by agency and by subject.

  GPO's MetaLib

The Government Printing Office (GPO) has launched a new federated search tool (link below).

Use it to search AGRICOLA Books, Access to Archival Databases (AAD) System -  NARA, AUL Index to Military Periodicals, Catalog of U.S. Government Publication (CGP), Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Catalog Search, Library of Congress (LOC), PubMed, TRIS Online, and USA.gov.