Here you'll find a brief list of links and resources for information on music management and the music industry that are freely available online. Help us improve this page by offering suggestions for additional links.
Additional Databases for Music Management Research
ABI/Inform Complete (Business Periodicals Database)This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive full-text source on business topics, ABI/INFORM features scholarly research from peer-reviewed journals (including over 3,000 full-text publications), trade and industry news, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times, as well as country-and industry-focused reports and data. Specialized subsidiary databases include accounting and tax news, banking and financial services news and research, proprietary information about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives from Hoover's, pharmaceutical and telecommunications industry news, international market and industry research reports, and analytical articles covering world and regional economic and political developments of major significance. [August 1971 - Present]
D&B HooversThis link opens in a new windowThe D&B Hoovers database combines over 150 million business records from 30,000 sources in 190 countries, updated 5 million times a day to put data in the hands of sellers at the point of interaction. The database is used by sales and marketing professionals to focus on the right prospects so they can generate immediate growth for their business, and for other types of company research.
Nexis UniThis link opens in a new windowNexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) is a major source of news, legal, and business information, containing over 15,000 full-text publications. The database provides current local, regional, national and international newspapers, broadcast media transcripts, newswires, and blogs. The legal section offers federal and state statutes, administrative codes, court opinions, briefs, pleadings and motions, administrative materials, law reviews and legal news. The business sections contains information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives, including company profiles, SEC filings, analyst reports, directories, and more. Nexis Uni also offers several useful personalized features for students and faculty who create individual accounts on the database after logging in, including the ability to customize the home page, save searches for later re-use, create search alerts on topics of interest, bookmark documents for later viewing, and retain search history to identify previously-viewed documents. With a personal account, students and faculty can also collaborate by creating and sharing research folders, sharing search strings, and highlighting or annotating documents in a folder.
Music Periodicals DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowBibliographic database containing over 1.3 million citation records for articles from more than 425 international music periodicals, with full-text access for selected titles. The majority of citation records date from 1996 to the present, with approximately 200,000 records covering the period from 1874 to 1995. The database covers a comprehensive range of subject areas in both scholarly and popular music journals. Articles examine the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theater, theory, popular music forms and composition. Articles cover a diverse array of musical genres, from the liturgical chants of medieval monks to the eclectic sounds of contemporary alternative rock musicians. Updated monthly. [1874 - Present]
ProQuest NewsstreamThis link opens in a new windowFull-text access to newspapers and other news media from the United States, Canada, Africa, Asia, Oceania, Europe, Latin America, and the Middle East. Important titles include the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, The Wall Street Journal, The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications, plus many other major news publications.
A monthly blog featuring reviews of new recordings, books and videos on music. Contributors include librarians and reporters with backgrounds in the music industry.
