Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here you'll find a brief list of jazz resources that are freely available online. Help us improve this page by offering suggestions for additional links.
Additional Databases for Jazz Research
JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections (I through IX, and XIV) Archive of over 2,-00 major journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, education, area studies, mathematics and statistics, and much more. Funding for the acquisition of the JSTOR Arts and Sciences V, VI, VIII, and IX Collections was provided by a generous gift from the Student Government Association. [18th Century - Present]
Music Periodicals Database Bibliographic database containing over 1.3 million citation records for articles from more than 425 international music periodicals, with full-text access for selected titles. The majority of citation records date from 1996 to the present, with approximately 200,000 records covering the period from 1874 to 1995. The database covers a comprehensive range of subject areas in both scholarly and popular music journals. Articles examine the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theater, theory, popular music forms and composition. Articles cover a diverse array of musical genres, from the liturgical chants of medieval monks to the eclectic sounds of contemporary alternative rock musicians. Updated monthly. [1874 - Present]
Naxos Music Library Jazz Naxos Music Library Jazz is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises Naxos Jazz, the catalogue of Blue Note Records, and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz along with Prophone and Proprius. It currently offers over 100,000 tracks of jazz from 260 labels, and over 12,000 jazz artists are represented. U.S.-based Fantasy has the world's deepest jazz catalogue and offers the very best in blues and R&B. Blue Note offers albums featuring the legendary artist John Coltrane and iconic artists such as Herbie Hancock, Dexter Gordon, Lee Morgan, Wayne Shorter and many others.
Oxford Music Online Oxford Music Online is a full-text portal to high-quality music reference sources, including the Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, containing over 50,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works. The database also includes the full text of The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
NPR Music: Jazz & Blues
Provides reviews of recordings and performances, as well as artist information and interviews.
Contains reviews of books, concerts and recordings, as well as interviews and biographies of jazz artists.
Jazz Archives & Collections
William P. Gottlieb Photographs from the Golden Age of Jazz
"The William P. Gottlieb Collection, comprising over sixteen hundred photographs of celebrated jazz artists, documents the jazz scene from 1938 to 1948, primarily in New York City and Washington, D.C."
Performing Arts Encyclopedia
The Library of Congress contains a wide range of digital content on Jazz, as well as music in general, which is available through their website. From this starting page, either Browse by Subject or explore any of their highlighted Special Presentations, such as African-American Band Music, Jazz on the Screen, the Gerry Mulligan Collection, and Jazz Photos by William P. Gottlieb.
The Benny Goodman Papers
"This register currently describes scores and/or parts to musical arrangements written for Benny Goodman's bands, orchestras, and combos." Additional items include letters, photographs, concert programs, etc. Individual documents are not viewable online.
The Brubeck Collection
Housed at the University of the Pacific in San Francisco, this collection contains a range of papers and documents, scores, media. A finding aid is included, as well as a selection of digital content that can be viewed online.
Charleston Jazz Initiative
"The Charleston Jazz Initiative (CJI) is a multi-year research project that documents the African American jazz tradition in Charleston, the South Carolina Lowcountry, and its diasporic movement throughout the United States and Europe between the late 19th century through today." Includes biographical information on area musicians, print materials and an oral history collection. Selected digital content available on their website.
The National Jazz Museum in Harlem
The museum is owner of the Savory Collection, a series of recordings by William Savory engineered during the swing era of the 1930s and 40s. A number of these items have been digitized and made available through this site, with more in the works.