Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Here you'll find links to a number of online sheet music collections that allow you to download and print complete works. These are generally in the public domain (copyright-free), but be sure to check the usage guidelines on each site beforehand!
Sheet Music Collections Online
American Choral Music, 1870-1923
Containing music from the Library of Congress collections, this resource provides biographical information about eight American choral composers (Amy Beach, Dudley Buck, George W. Chadwick, Mabel Daniels, R. Nathanial Dett, William W. Gilchrist, Margaret R. Lang, Horatio W. Parker). Details also include brief histories on specific works and links to PDF versions of the sheet music.
Choral Public Domain Library
Part of the ChoralWiki site, CPDL is a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization providing free choral scores and related information (recordings, translations, etc.).
Historic American Sheet Music Collection
Directory of large sheet music collections accessible either through a web page or an online catalog. Many of the collections include digitized reproductions of sheet music in the public domain. Hosted by the Duke University Library.
Inventions of Note: Sheet Music Collection
A small digital music collection of songs and piano music, created by MIT.
Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music
A digitized collection of sheet music, available through the Special Collections at the Sheridan Libraries of the Johns Hopkins University.
Music Manuscript Online
An online collection of original manuscripts from such composers as Bach, Haydn, and Berg. Digital scans can be explored online.
"The Mutopia Project offers sheet music editions of classical music for free download. These are based on editions in the public domain, and include works by Bach, Beethoven, Chopin, Handel, Mozart, and many others. [...] We also host a growing number of modern editions, arrangements and new music. The respective editors, arrangers and composers have chosen to make these works freely available." May include accompanying MIDI files for some works. See the site for usage guidelines.
Neue Mozart-Ausgabe: Digital Mozart Edition
The Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum provides online access to the music of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, for the educational purposes. Please read the disclaimer on the site for information on appropriate uses for this material.
"ScorSer is the search engine for musicians, helping them to search throught hundreds of sites for scores, sheet music, tabs, backing tracks, lyrics, mp3 and other necessery information."
Sibley Music Library: Musical Scores
An archive of sheet music put together by the Eastman School of Music (University of Rochester). Searchable by keyword, with a variety of limits (voice part, arrangement, etc.).
Templeton Digital Sheet Music Collection
Provides a searchable index of fully digitized sheet music at Mississippi State University, much of which is public domain.
UCLA Music Library: Digital Archive: Popular American Music
A searchable directory of digitized sheet music, available through the UCLA Music Library website.
VARIATIONS: Online Musical Scores
The VARIATIONS project is a prototype project, created by Indiana University, that combines musical scores, recordings, and liner notes, for a number of works (opera, orchestral, choral, solo instrument, etc.).
Civil War Sheet Music Collection
Created by the Library of Congress, this digital sheet music collection contains over 2,500 titles from the Civil War era.