Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This area provides links to information about specific composers, as well as resources on the composition, theory and history of music.
This site contains a large amount of information on the composer George Frideric Handel, including biographical & historical information, discographies, bibliographic information and other related links.
The Leonard Bernstein Collection
"The Leonard Bernstein Collection is one of the largest and most varied of the many special collections held by the Library of Congress Music Division. Its more than 400,000 items, including music and literary manuscripts, correspondence, photographs, audio and video recordings, fan mail, and other types of materials extensively document Bernstein's extraordinary life and career." - Library of Congress
The Classical Music Navigator
Profiles of 444 important classical composers covers basic data, major works, and influences. The site enables users to match individual works to works representing similar compositional forms and styles, and the site also includes a useful glossary of musical terms.
John Cage Unbound: A Living Archive
"John Cage Unbound: A Living Archive is an online record of John Cage's work and its evolving impact on music and performance." Hosted by the New York Public Library, this resource includes manuscripts, ephemera (photos, programs, etc.) and videos of, or about, the composer.
Music Theory, History and Composition Resources
The history of the Metropolitan Opera on this site is brief, but is supplemented by a variety of related resources. These include an interactive timeline, audio clips and photos, and access to the MetOpera Database, with information about opera performances and casts.
Virtual Instrument Museum
A searchable reference source for information on instruments from around the world. Browsable by instrument type, geographic origins, and material type, results often offer photos, audio and video samples (when available), as well as descriptive information on each (history, tuning, technique, etc.).
Worldwide Internet Music Resources
Collection of sites dealing with performance, composition, research and study, music history, music theory, and commercial music.
Roderic C. Knight Musical Instrument Collection
A virtual archive of musical instruments from Oberlin Conservatory of Music.
Online flashcards for improving music theory skills (note/clef reading, key signatures, intervals, etc.).
Music Theory & History Online
Provides basic information about music notation, as well as other useful information. Site is a bit difficult to navigate, but useful nonetheless.
A brief, illustrated introduction to musical notation using lessons and exercises. Includes additional, interactive tools, as well as links to downloadable Apps ($).
Teoría: Music Theory Web
An collection of tutorials, exercises, and more, for practicing music theory.