This section contains a number of print dictionaries and encyclopedias
that are currently available in the library's Reference Collection.
Some items can also be accessed online (as noted).
Reference Books
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians by Slonimsky, Nicolas (ed.)
Call Number: REF ML105 .B16 2000, v. 1-6
New York: Schirmer Books, 2001
A Chronology of American Musical Theater by Norton, Richard (ed.)
The Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Larkin, Colin (ed.)
Call Number: REF ML102 .P66 G84 1995, v.1-6
New York: Stockton Press, 1995
The Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre by Gänzl, Kurt (ed.)
Call Number: REF ML102 .M88 G3 2001, v. 1-3
New York: Schirmer Books, 2001
International Dictionary of Black Composers by Floyd, Samuel A., Jr. (ed.)
Call Number: REF ML105.I5 1999, v. 1-2
Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1999
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz by Kernfeld, Barry (ed.)
Call Number: REF ML102.J3 N48 2001, v. 1-3
New York: Macmillan Press Limited, 2002
The New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians, 2nd Edition
Call Number: REF ML100 .N48 2001, v. 1-20
This title is now part of Oxford Music Online. Users must be members of the William Paterson University community in order to access this resource from off campus. Also available in print.
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments by Sadie, Stanley (ed.)
Call Number: REF ML102.I5 N48 1984, v. 1-3
New York: Macmillan Press Limited, 1984
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera by Sadie, Stanley (ed.)
Call Number: REF ML102.O6 N5 1992, v. 1-4
New York: Macmillan Press Limited, 1992
The Oxford History of Western Music by Taruskin, Richard
