Developed by middle school librarian, Amy Gillespie, this memorable acronym (F.A.R.T.) helps students remember steps for website evaluation. Grades 6-8.
In this article from MiddleWeb Educators Kylene Beers & Robert Probst discuss the importance of reading responsibly to differentiate between fake and real news.
ASCD (formerly Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development) gives a brief explanation about why teaching about fake news is important and four tips to guide your teaching.
Activity to answer the Essential Question: What media literacy skills do students need to evaluate the reliability of a news source? Developed by PBS NewsHour. Grades 7-12.
Subscribe to this free e-newsletter by Peter Adams of the News Literacy Project. Delivered to your email every Monday the Sift highlights the media bias, viral rumors, and suggests teaching activities using the week's news.
Includes many resources for teaching media literacy. Some are freely available for download through their website, e.g. CML MediaLit Kit. Grades PreK-12.
From Stony Brook University's School of Journalism the Center for News Literacy includes resources for teaching news literacy to undergraduate students. (College through adult)
An online program designed to teach news literacy to middle school and high school students. Registration is required but the program is free. From The News Literacy Project. Grades 5-12.
Free but Registration is necessary to use these lessons and assessments developed by the Stanford History Education Group. Lessons focus on evaluating social media and other online tools.
From Common Sense Media, this section includes resources for teachers on technology related topics such as digital citizenship, one-to-one programs, etc. Also has lesson plans, games and infographics for grades 3-12.
Teaching Tolerance has developed this unit of study with separate lesson plans for grades K-2, 3-5, 6-8 and 9-12. The unit covers many aspects of digital and civic literacy and includes student handouts, etc.
Developed by Facing History and Ourselves and the News Literacy Project this curriculum unit explores the role of news reports and social media in our understanding of bias, the free press and civic responsibility. Grades 9-12.
The LAMP (Learning About Multimedia Project) focuses on teaching young people how to "comprehend, create and critique media and technology." Grades 3 -12.
Narrated by author, John Green, this 10-episode Crash Course series was developed by MediaWire and the Stanford History Education Group. The series introduces strategies to evaluating information found online.
Thousands of lesson plans for K-12 that deal with both historical topics as well as current events. Searchable by Type of Tool, Topic, Grade or Historical Period. Free but Registration is required.
A curriculum for middle school and high school that was developed by the American Bar Association and other organizations. Includes the Six Principles Behind News Literacy. Grades 7-12.
A nonpartisan, nonprofit organization established to teach middle school and high school students how to sort fact from fiction, to become smart consumers of information and engaged, informed citizens. Grades 6-12.
The Washington Post has a Newspapers in Education site which includes lesson plans and curriculum units which examine topics related to freedom of the press, and related topics. Gr. 9-12
A project of the American Society of News Editors (ASNE) in collaboration with several professional teaching organizations, these lessons teach news literacy. Grades 7-12.
How does an inaccurate tweet turn into a mainstream news story? Teaching Tolerance describes the journey in this 7 minute video that introduces terms such as confirmation bias and filter bubbles.
Developed by media expert, Frank Baker, this website collects articles and resources on a variety of media related articles. A search box enables the user to search for information on specific topics.
Media Literacy Now advocates for media literacy instruction in K-12 schools. This website provides information to support the development of laws in every state to implement media literacy education in schools.
Authored by Rutgers professor, Joyce Valenza, this blog posting discusses research, vocabulary, related topics and an extensive list of resources for teaching news literacy.
An open textbook by Mike Caulfield to help students evaluate information found on the internet. He identifies four "moves" in the process: Check for previous work, Go upstream to the source, Read laterally, and Circle back:.
