LibGuides: WPUNJ Alumni Resources: NJ State & Public Library Resources

Your Public Library Card - Passport to Subscription Databases from Home

Interested in connecting to subscription databases from home? The State of New Jersey funds several databases through its JerseyClicks portal, and connecting from home is easy with a valid public library card from any New Jersey library. From home you'll be prompted to enter the bar-code number on the card, and you're in.

In addition to the databases provided through JerseyClicks, several county and regional cooperative systems offer additional subscription databases to patrons of member libraries. As with JerseyClicks, off-site access to many of these resources is available with a valid public library card. Here are the relevant database pages from systems located near WPUNJ:

Bergen County Cooperative Library System (BCCLS)
- System-Wide E-Resources
- Individual Member Libraries' E-Resources
Morris Automated Information Network (M.A.I.N.)
- Digital Content
Passaic County Library System PALS Plus
- https://www.palsplus.org/
Sussex County Library System
- eLibrary
Somerset County Library System
- Databases

Subscription and Free Databases

Academic Search Premier (via JerseyClicks)
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access)
United States Department of Agriculture National Agricultural Library
Business Source Elite (via JerseyClicks)
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
Provided by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center (via JerseyClicks)
GreenFILE (via JerseyClicks)
Provides scholarly, government and general-interest sources covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts.
Image Collection (via JerseyClicks)
Over one million images, including images from Canadian Press, Getty Images, and UPI; maps from Antenna Audio; and photographs from public domain sources.
Legal Information Reference Center (via JerseyClicks)
Designed to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds, the LIRC includes full text for many top consumer legal reference books, as well as thousands of legal forms.
Literary Reference Center (via JerseyClicks)
Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It gives students, professors and researchers a foundation of literary reference works to meet their research needs.
MasterFILE Elite (via JerseyClicks)
Provides full-text magazines, periodicals and reference books covering a wide-range of subject areas. It also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
MEDLINE / PubMed
MEDLINE/PubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine premier bibliographic database that contains more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature in life sciences.
Middle Search Plus (via JerseyClicks)
A full-text database providing popular middle school magazines and reference books. Covering subjects such as history, current events, science and sports, it also includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents, plus over a million photos, maps and flags.
Military and Government Collection (via JerseyClicks)
A database of full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. It is designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.
NoveList (via JerseyClicks)
A comprehensive readers’ advisory resource providing information about works of fiction for children, teens, and adults.
NoveList K-8 (via JerseyClicks)
Designed for children and the adults who work with them, NoveList K-8 is an online database of reading recommendations which encourages reader success. Featuring an easy-to-use interface, kids can use NoveList K-8 to find just the right books for their reading levels and interests, while parents, teachers and librarians can use it to find valuable teaching resources that will engage young readers.
Points of View Reference Center (via JerseyClicks)
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
Primary Search (via JerseyClicks)
Designed for elementary school libraries, Primary Search is a full-text database providing popular children’s magazines, easy-to-read encyclopedic entries and a vast image collection.
Reference USA (via JerseyClicks)
Comprehensive business directory information includes U.S. and Canadian businesses, physicians and dentists, white pages, job postings, consumer/lifestyle information, and new movers and homeowners.
Referencia Latina (via JerseyClicks)
This full-text Spanish-language database covers a broad array of subjects inside and outside academia. It offers content from a variety of sources, including reference books, general interest magazines and health reports.
Regional Business News (via JerseyClicks)
Provides full-text business publications for the New Jersey region. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
Small Business Reference Center (via JerseyClicks)
Contains full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address many small business topics. It includes business videos, a help and advice section and details on how to create business plans.
Teacher Reference Center (via JerseyClicks)
A research database for teachers, Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for more than 220 peer-reviewed journals.

Your Librarian

Gary Marks

Email Me

Contact:

Library 107c

973-720-2290

Subjects: Criminal Justice, Geography, Law and Legal Studies, Political Science, Sociology, Urban Studies