Skip to main content

HIST3490: The Holocaust: Archives and Manuscript Collections

Archives and Manuscript Collections

Das Bundesarchiv (German National Archives)
Official repository for archival records of Germany. The Bundesarchiv's web site includes some digitized collections. The site is in German.


Directory of Archives and Manuscript Repositories in the United States / United States. National Historical Publications and Records Commission. - 2nd ed. Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1988. - National Historical Publications and Records Commission.; Includes index. - Call Number: REF CD3020.D49
Holdings data on 4,560 archival and manuscript repositories in the nation. Despite its age, still useful as a tool for planning research trips. [Choice]


Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers / Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers / 18th ed. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research Co., 1995. - v. ; 29 cm; - Call Number: REF Z731.D56
A worldwide guide to more than 21,700 special libraries, research libraries, information centers, archives, and data centers maintained by government agencies, business industry, newspapers, educational institutions, nonprofit organizations, and etc.


Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States / United States. National Archives and Records Administration, Robert B. Matchette, Jan Shelton Danis, and United States. National Archives and Records Administration. - Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Administration, 1995. - compiled by Robert B. Matchette with Anne B. Eales ... [et al.].; 3 v. ; 29 cm. - v. 1. Record groups 1-170 -- v. 2. Record groups 171-515 -- v. 3. Index / compiled by Jan Shelton Danis. - Call Number: REF CD3026
This major reference work provides an introduction to more than 1.7 million cubic feet of textual records, 300,000 rolls of microfilm, 2.3 million maps and charts, 9.2 million aerial photographs, 7.4 million still pictures, 178,000 sound recordings, 123,000 motion picture reels, and 7,000 computer data sets located in National Archives depositories in Washington; College Park, MD; regional branches; presidential libraries; and affiliated archives. It describes NARA's holdings as of September 1, 1994. Of special interest is the section on "National Archives Collection of Foreign Records Sezied," which describes Nazi Party and German government materials seized by U.S. forces at the end of World War II. [Choice]


National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC)
NUCMC is a free-of-charge cooperative cataloging program operated by the Library of Congress. The purpose of NUCMC is to make available in one database the contents of archival and manuscript collections in research libraries, museums, state archives, and historical societies located throughout North America. From 1959 to 1993, the contents of NUCMC were published in print volumes. Since 1986, bibliographic records created for NUCMC have been made available in electronic format and can now be searched using this database. A search for "National Socialism" returns over 400 records.


Subject Collections: A Guide to Special Book Collections and Subject Emphases as Reported by University, College, Public, and Special Libraries and Museums in the United States and Canada / Lee Ash, and William G. Miller. - 6th , rev. and enl ed. New York: Bowker, 1985. - 2 v. - Call Number: REF Z731.A78
This two-volume guide identifies libraries and special research collections in the U.S. and Canada with major collections in specific subject areas, including archival and manuscript collections. Organized by subject; the entry for "National Socialism" lists 24 different collections.


United States Holocaust Memorial Museum - Research Division
In addition to the collections displayed in its museum, the USHMM also houses a first-rate research Library. Its energetic acquisitions policy has resulted in arguably "the world’s largest concentration of Holocaust-related textual and other records outside Israel," and its collections include over 18 million pages of textual records plus many other materials. The "Research" section of its web site includes access to the Museum's Library catalog, an archival guide, a well-organized link directory to high-quality web resources on Holocaust topics, and a collection of annotated bibliographies.


Yivo Institute for Jewish Research - Archives
Located at 15 West 16th Street in New York City, the Yivo Institute houses an archival collection of approximately 1,400 (record groups) spanning over 10,000 linear feet. These collections consist of manuscripts, correspondence, and printed materials. The Archives also holds photographs, films, videotapes, sound recordings, art works, and artifacts.

Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website