Skip to main content

HIST3490: The Holocaust: Bibliographies / Guides to Historical Literature

Bibliographies and Guides to Historical Literature

The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature / general editor, Mary Beth Norton; associate editor, Pamela Gerardi. - New York : Oxford University Press, 1995. - 2 v. ; 27 cm. - Call Number: D20 .A64
This excellent two-volume annotated bibliography contains several section pertaining to the history of twentieth century Europe. A useful tool for quickly identifying some of the key literature in topical areas (through about 1992). Should be supplemented with a search in the Historical Abstracts database for more recent materials.


The Columbia Guide to the Holocaust / Donald L. Niewyk, and Francis R. Nicosia. - New York: Columbia University Press, 2000. - Includes bibliographical references (p. [269]-372) and index. - Call Number: REF D804.3.N54
This useful reference tool consists of five distinct sections: a historical overview; a guide to major controversies; an encyclopedia of separate units on people, places, terms, and key organizations; a detailed chronology; and a comprehensive guide to print and nonprint resources. The latter unit is subdivided by category (e.g., organizations, museums, and memorials) whose entries usefully include phone numbers and e-mail and Web site addresses. Two appendixes provide statistical tables on emigration from Germany, Jewish losses, etc., and a set of original maps. [Choice]


The Holocaust : An Annotated Bibliography and Resource Guide / Edited by David M. Szonyi Hoboken, NJ: Ktav Pub. House for the National Jewish Resource Center and Center for Studies on the Holocaust of the Anti-Defamation League of B'nai B'rith, New York, 1985. - Call Number: Z6374.H6H65
Older but still useful bibliography organized into 13 major sections and additional subsections. Oriented to both research and teaching, the bibliography covers the various media for the presentation of Holocaust history (source materials, literature, audio-visual materials, music, memorials, events, etc.).


The Nazi Era, 1919-1945: A Select Bibliography of Published Works from the Early Roots to 1980 / compiled by Helen Kehr and Janet Langmaid. - London : Mansell Pub. ; Bronx, New York : Distributed in the United States and Canada by H.W. Wilson Co., 1982. - xvi, 621 p. ; 24 cm. - Call Number: Z2242.N27K4
Excellent (though dated) bibliography is notable for the detail of its subject organization. Nine general subject chapters and a large number of sub-sections within each chapter, plus a 93-page index, make it easy to locate materials on a wide variety of specific topics.


The Third Reich, 1933-1939: A Historical Bibliography. - Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-Clio Information Services, c1984. - xii, 239 p. ; 24 cm. - Includes indexes. -Call Number: Z2240.T47
Contains 932 abstracts of articles drawn from the Historical Abstracts database for the period from 1973 through 1982, organized into seven topical chapters. Dated but still useful for locating older scholarship.


World War II and Its Origins: A Select Annotated Bibliography of Books in English / Marty Bloomberg, Hans H. Weber. - Littleton, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited, 1975. - xiv, 311 p. ; 24 cm. - Includes index. - Call Number: Z6207.W8B58
Annotated bibliography covering older scholarship on the origins of World War II. Should be supplemented with searches in bibliographic databases for newer material.

Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website