Skip to main content

HIST3490: The Holocaust: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionary of German History, 1806-1945 / Wilfried Fest. - New York: St. Martin's Press, 1978. - 019: 4842688; Wilfried Fest. - Call Number: DD203.F47
Approximately 700 entries covering modern German history are treated in this modest-sized reference.


Dictionary of the Holocaust: Biography, Geography, and Terminology / Eric Joseph Epstein, and Philip Rosen. - Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997. - foreword by Henry R. Huttenbach.; Includes bibliographical references (p. [359]-381) and index. - Call Number: [Holocaust] D804.25.E67
Each of the nearly 2,000 entries in this volume provides short, factual information on places, terms, and people associated with the Holocaust, including Righteous Gentiles and non-Jewish victims. Entries are arranged alphabetically, offer many see and cross-references, and contain suggested readings (with full publication information given in the extensive bibliography of English-language sources). For non-English terms and expressions, the language of origin is identified, along with both their literal meaning and a definition. [Choice]


Encyclopedia of the Holocaust / Israel Gutman. - Edited by Israel Gutman New York, N.Y.: Macmillan, 1990. - 8912; 4 v; Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF D804.3.E53
Four-volume reference edited by a Holocaust authority from Yad Vashem offers comprehensive coverage of the major aspects of the Holocaust. The articles are supplemented with a variety of photographs and maps. Cross-references abound, both within the articles at the ends. Among the most valuable contributions of this set is the large number of entries for organizations of every kind, usually under the name in the original language (Hebrew is in transliteration), with references from English names to the correct entry. Volume 4 has much hard-to-find supplementary material, such as an excellent glossary, a detailed chronology, and six important appendixes. These include a list of major Jewish organizations in Germany; the structure of the Einsatzgruppen; charts for three major trials of Nazi war criminals (such as the Nuremberg Trial), which list the defendents, the verdict, and outcome; and an analysis of the estimated Jewish losses during the Holocaust. A very comprehensive index concludes the work. [Choice]


Encyclopedia of the Third Reich / Christian Zentner, Friedemann Bedürftig, and Amy Hackett. - New York; London: Macmillan; Collier Macmillan, 1991. - 2 v; Translation of: Das Grosse Lexikon des Dritten Reiches.; Includes bibliographical references.; Includes indexes. - Call Number: REF DD256.5.G76313
Two-volume English translation of a German reference encyclopedia provides balanced and thorough coverage of a wide variety of topics and persons connected with the Third Reich, ranging from short factual explanations of National Socialist jargon (in English, with German cross-references) to longer biographies of prominent Nazis and in-depth articles on larger subjects. [Choice]


History of the Holocaust : A Handbook and Dictionary / Abraham J. Edelheit, and Hershel Edelheit. - Boulder: Westview Press, 1994. - Includes bibliographical references (p. 461-478) and indexes. - Call Number: REF D804.3.E33
This volume consists of two parts. The first part presents a historical overview, divided into chapters titled "Antecedents," "The Nazi Totalitarian State," and "International Responses"; each chapter concludes with notes for additional research. The second part consists of a 300-page glossary, which contains entries ranging in length from one sentence to multiple pages with numerous cross-references. Many tables and graphs illustrate both parts of the book. The bibliography includes a list of archives, presses, and periodicals as well as monographs and journal articles. Name, place, and subject indexes conclude the handbook. [Choice]


Holocaust Encyclopedia
This interactive Encyclopedia includes hundreds of articles that cover topics like the Third Reich, refugees, ghettos, and the liberation of Nazi camps. Each entry contains hypertext links to other entries and relevant resources, including timelines, photo galleries, and primary source documents. Visitors can use the "Browse Articles" to get started, and they should also note that the articles are available in French, Spanish, Italian, Russian, Turkish, Arabic, and six other languages. In the "Additional Resources" section, visitors will find a link to "The Holocaust: A Learning Site for Students" and a complete "A-Z" list of all the articles. [Internet Scout Project]
http://www.ushmm.org/wlc/en/


The Holocaust Encyclopedia / Edited by Walter Laqueur and Judith Tydor Baumel New Haven: Yale University Press, 2001. - Includes bibliographical references (p. [721]-735) and index. - Call Number: REF D804.25.H66
This recently published one-volume encyclopedia offers hundreds of fresh and lengthy articles on such topics as antisemitism, historiography, Jewish women, memorials, and resistance, just to brush the surface. Its 16-page chronology is excellent. The encyclopedia "focuses on issues rather than personalities and the geography of mass murder" and its articles reflect much of the research carried out since the collapse of the Soviet bloc. [Choice]


Modern Germany: An Encyclopedia of History, People, and Culture, 1871-1990 / Dieter K. Buse, and Juergen C. Doerr. - New York: Garland Pub., 1998. - 2 v; Includes bibliographical references and index.; v. 1. A-K -- v. 2. L-Z. - Call Number: REF DD14.M64
Two-volume reference includes 1,300 topical essays written by some 400 contributors. Entries treat personalities, events, and institutions, as well as fields such as literature, music, art, religion, science, philosophy, economics, technology, society, and the media. Entries are accompanied by cross-references and a short bibliography. [Choice]


Terminology of the Third Reich / Richard Wires. - Muncie, Ind.: Ball State University, 1985. - 79 p. ; 26 cm. - Bibliography: p. 72-79. - Call Number: DD256.5.W53

Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website