Skip to main content

HIST3490: The Holocaust: Biographical Resources

Biographical Resources

Biographical Dictionary of the Extreme Right since 1890 / Philip Rees. - New York: Simon & Schuster, 1990. - Includes bibliographical references (p. xii-xv). - Call Number: REF D412.6.R39
Well-written, concise descriptions of major and minor figures of extreme right wing politics of the 19th and 20th centuries. The more than 500 selections cross national boundaries from Western and Eastern Europe to Latin America and even South Africa and Japan. The entries range from the notorious (Hitler, Himmler, and Heydrich), to the less known, to the surprising. The editor is a specialist on the history of fascism, and the entries for figures of the Nazi movement are notable for their detail and sophistication. [Choice]


Biography Reference Bank
This full-text database contains thousands of full-text biographical essays for historical and contemporary figures, drawn from a wide variety of published sources. The essays vary in length and quality, but most include substantial detail and a selected bibliography. Several entires also contain links to related resources (e.g., articles about the subject). Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


Dictionary of World Biography / Frank N. Magill, editor; Christina J. Moose, managing editor; Alison Aves, researcher and bibliographer. - Chicago : Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers ; Pasadena : Salem Press, 1998- . - v. : ill. ; 29 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and indexes. - Call Number: REF CT104.D54
Volumes 7, 8, and 9 of this series cover the twentieth century. Individuals from Europe are represented here, and the available essays are substantive, ranging in length from 2,000 to 3,000 words. Each biographical sketch concludes with an overview of the person's place in history and a selective annotated bibliography.


Who's Who in Nazi Germany / Robert S. Wistrich. - London ; New York: Routledge, 1995. - Rev. ed. of: Who's who in Nazi Germany. 1984, c1982.; Includes bibliographical references (p. 290-296). - Call Number: REF DD256.5.W564
Collection of biographical essays for approximately 350 individuals; although leaders of the Nazi Party, SS, Gestapo and Wehrmacht are prominently featured, there are also entries for civil servants, jurists, industrialists, intellectuals, religious leaders, academics, artists and entertainers. Includes members of the German resistance.

Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website