LibGuides: LGBTQIA+ Resources: @ the Library

Overview

The Cheng Library offers a wide variety of materials dealing with issues affecting the LGBTQIA+ community; taking the form of books, videos, and online articles.

While our collection is focused mostly on academic research, the topics included cover both historical and current events, as well as issues that are of personal use to many.

If you feel that there is an area that could be better represented in our collection, please let us know!

NOTE: You may need to use a variety of keywords to find everything that is available.

Search Books & Media

Search the Cheng Library online catalog for books and media. If you need journal articles, go to our Databases page.

LGBTQIA+ Resources @ the Cheng Library

LGBTQIA+ Book Lists

Not all titles are part of the Cheng Library collection, but let us know if you see something that you think we should have!

The Rainbow Book List - GLBTQ Books for Children & Teens
Created by the GLBT Roundtable of the American Library Association (ALA), this list of books "... presents an annual bibliography of quality books with significant and authentic GLBTQ content, which are recommended for people from birth through eighteen years of age."
Over the Rainbow List
Created by the GLBT Roundtable of the American Library Association (ALA), this annual list is directed toward adult readers. It includes "fiction and non-fiction books for adults that are recognized... for their authentic expression of gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experiences."
Lambda Literary Awards
"The Lambda Literary Awards identify and celebrate the best lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender books of the year and affirm that LGBTQ stories are part of the literature of the world."
Stonewall Book Awards
Since 1971, the American Library Association's (ALA) GLBT Roundtable has honored books based on their "exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience." Each year, books from multiple categories are chosen, including adult and children's and young adult literature.
The Publishing Triangle Awards
The Publishing Triangle honors LGBT writing with nine different awards, each year, including fiction, nonfiction, poetry, etc.

Finding Articles on LGBTQIA+ Topics

Finding good articles about LGBTQIA+ topics can sometimes be difficult, but the following library databases are a great place to start:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Large, interdisciplinary full-text database contains over 4,800 full-text publications, including academic journals, magazines, books, and trade publications. Offers broad subject coverage for a variety of disciplines, including anthropology, area studies, biology, chemistry, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, law, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and many other fields. Funded by the the New Jersey State Library.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Bibliographic database contains over 450,000 citations and abstracts for journal and magazine articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations covering the world's scholarly literature about the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes material from over 1,820 journals and magazines written in over 40 languages, although the majority of items were published in English. Most of the items in the database were issued after 1954. Many records contain links to full-text articles in other Library databases. [1954 - present]
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window GenderWatch is a full-text database useful for gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research. The database offers over 300 titles, with more than 250 in full-text, from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses, with coverage back to 1970. Researchers and teachers may access more than 219,000 full articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace. [1970 - Present]
JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections (I through IX, and XIV) and Life Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Archive of over 1,650 major journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, education, area studies, mathematics and statistics, life sciences, and much more. Funding for the acquisition of the JSTOR Arts and Sciences V, VI, VIII, and IX Collections was provided by a generous gift from the Student Government Association. [18th Century - Present]
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window Full-text database designed to provide multiple sides of a variety of current issues. The database currently offers materials on 200 topics, and each topic section features an overview along with point and counterpoint essays drawn from a variety of sources, plus supplementary information including primary source documents and guides to critical thinking.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window ProQuest Central is a large multidisciplinary database indexing over 14,000 publications, the majority of them available in full text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, and more. The publications include over 6,500 scholarly journals, over 3,600 trade publications, over 2,000 magazines and newspapers, and over 800 industry reports, plus dissertations and theses, company annual reports, and videos.
ProQuest Social Science Database This link opens in a new window ProQuest Social Science Database, a subset of the ProQuest Central database, offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology. Contains full-text content for over 1,200 titles.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window PsycINFO is the principal abstracting and indexing database covering peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The database currently contains over 3.3 million records for articles from over 2,500 journals, books, and dissertations. Although the major focus of the database is psychology, it also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law, and others. The records in PsycINFO are organized by a rigorous and detailed system of subject classification to support high-precision searching, and links to full-text content are provided where available. [1887 - present]
Salem Health (Full-Text Health Reference Titles) This link opens in a new window Full-text access to the following reference titles published by Salem Press:      Adolescent Health and Wellness      Cancer      Psychology and Behavioral Health
Salem History (Decades in America, Great Lives, Milestone Documents) This link opens in a new window The Salem History portal provides full-text access to several major series published by Salem Press, inclduing Decades in America (1920s-1990s), Great Lives from History, and Milestone Documents.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Sociological Abstracts, which includes the companion file Social Services Abstracts, covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers. [ 1952 - Present ]
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window This bibliographic database provides citations and abstracts for materials in all areas of women's studies. It includes more than 958,800 records and spans from 1972 to the present and indexes journals, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, reports, theses, dissertations and grey literature.