LibGuides: PCOM5100: Integrated Communications: Demographics

Research Institutes

Pew Research Center
The Pew Research Center conducts surveys and research on the U.S. population, covering a wide variety of topics including politics and policy, religion, science, international affairs, generations and age, the internet and technology, gender and LGBTQ, news habits and media, family and relationships, the economy and work, race and ethnicity, and several others.
University of Michigan Survey of Consumers
Register for Public Access.
Most known is the Index of Consumer Sentiment.

Selected Links

Arbitron
Radio ratings +
ClickZ
Look for the Stats and Tools section in addition to articles and commentary
Jim Vileta's Business Research Launch Pad
My Best Segments
Try the Zip Code look up for an example of consumer market segmentation.
SecondaryData
SecondaryData.com™ is owned and operated by Decision Analyst, a global marketing research and analytical consulting firm.
Advertising Age's American Demographics

From the Census Bureau and other US Government Agencies

American Community Survey
The American Community Survey (ACS), conducted by the Census Bureau, helps local officials, community leaders, and businesses understand the changes taking place in their communities. It is the premier source for detailed population and housing information about the United States.
Consumer Expenditure Surveys
The Consumer Expenditure Surveys (CE) program provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States. The CE program provides these data in tables, LABSTAT database, news releases, reports, and public use microdata files.
County Business Patterns (CBP)
County Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. The series includes the number of establishments, employment, and payroll data.
data.census.gov
Hosted by the Census Bureau, the statistics provided at data.census.gov come from several censuses and surveys about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas (territories).
Data and Statistics About the U.S. (from USA.gov)
A portal to data and statistics from a wide variety of government agencies.

Polls

Cooperative Election Study
The CCES is a 50,000+ person national stratified sample survey administered by YouGov. The survey asks about general political attitudes, various demographic factors, assessment of roll call voting choices, political information, vote intentions, and post-election opinions.
Gallup
News briefs and associated data from recent polls.
General Social Survey (1972-Present)
The General Social Survey is a long running survey of social, cultural and political indicators. Probably the single best source of data on societal trends. You must register for a free personal account in order to access the data.
The Harris Poll
News briefs and associated data from recent polls.
Odum Institute for Research in Social Science
The Odum Institute has a large archive of public opinion data, including more than 1,000 Harris Polls from as early as 1958, the National Network of State Polls collection (775 studies from more than 25 states), the Carolina Poll (1977–2005), Monmouth University Polling Institute polls (2011+), the Southern Focus Poll (1992–2001), and some USA Today polls (1984–1993).
PollingReport.com
A polling data aggregator site, drawing from a variety of sources.
Reuters Polling
The Reuters/Ipsos poll has measured American public opinion at least once a week since 2012. The online poll is conducted in English, throughout the United States, gathering about 132,000 unique responses every year. This site contains a large number of these polls.

eMarketing forums and blogs

Other Sources of Demographic Data

In addition to the reosurces listed on this page, articles on consumers in general and specific target audiences can be found in all of the business databases and news sources.

ClickZ

ClickZ is a good place to find statistical reports but it also has news articles and other useful resources for eMarketing. This is the statistics feed, there are several other feeds available from ClickZ.

Slide presentation

PR Case Studies