Skip to main content

HIST3250: American Ethnic History: Biographical Resources

Biographical Resources

American National Biography / general editors, John A. Garraty, Mark C. Carnes. - New York: Oxford University Press, 1999. - 24 v.; 26 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF CT213.A68
Over 17,400 lengthy biographical essays in 24 volumes. One of the best resources of its kind for 20th century Americans, although the individual must be dead to be included in the ANB. Two supplement volumes have been added since the original series was published.


American Women Civil Rights Activists: Biobibliographies of 68 Leaders, 1825-1992 / Gayle J. Hardy. - Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 1993. - by Gayle J. Hardy.; Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF JC599.U5 H273
Each of the 68 entries in this reference focuses on one individual and includes three major sections: a chronological biography; background information; and bibliographical information (e.g., books and shorter works by and about each person, primary source materials, biographical sketches, media materials [i.e., films, slides, sound recordings], and other works such as plays). Pulls together information not otherwise available in one source. [Choice]


Biographical Dictionary of Hispanic Americans, 2nd edition / Nicholas E. Meyer. - New York: Facts on File, 2001. - ix, 324 p. : ill. ; 23 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF E184.S75M49 [E-BOOK]
Covering almost 250 individuals, this reference source contains biographies of a wide variety of famous Hispanic Americans (e.g, opera star Placido Domingo) and those less known (e.g., Chicago police superintendent Matt L. Rodriguez). The compiler has a loose criterion for membership in the U.S.'s fastest growing ethnic group: the gate is open to persons of mixed parentage who "feel they are Hispanic." The majority of entries run about a page, and each includes a brief bibliography. Besides a subject-name index, the work concludes with several index charts including occupation and country of origin and a fine bibliography of Hispanic American reference books. [Choice]


Biography Reference Bank
This full-text database contains thousands of full-text biographical essays for historical and contemporary figures, drawn from a wide variety of published sources. The essays vary in length and quality, but most include substantial detail and a selected bibliography. Several entires also contain links to related resources (e.g., articles about the subject). Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


Notable Latino Americans: A Biographical Dictionary / by Matt S. Meier with Conchita Franco Serri and Richard A. Garcia. - Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997 - xv, 431 p. : ill. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF E184.S75M435 [and E-BOOK]
This publication profiles 127 Mexican Americans, Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and other Latinos who have made important and varied contributions in the U.S. and internationally. Entries are informative, lively, carefully prepared, and include bibliographies for further reading. Historical and cultural information in the introduction demonstrates the authors' understanding of Latino populations in the U.S. [Choice]


Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website