Skip to main content

HIST3250: American Ethnic History: Bibliographies / Guides to Historical Literature

Bibliographies and Guides to Historical Literature

American Foreign Relations since 1600: A Guide to the Literature / Robert L. Beisner, editor. - Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2003. - 2 v. (xviii, 2065 p.) ; 26 cm. - Rev. ed. of: Guide to American foreign relations since 1700 / edited by Richard Dean Burns. 1983. - Includes bibliographical references and indexes. - Call Number: REF E183.7.G84
Excellent annotated bibliography covers the full span of U.S. diplomatic history with over 16,000 entries covering reference works, primary materials, historiography, biographical, thematic and geographical studies, and much more. Organized into 32 chapters following a chronological pattern, about three-fourths of the bibliography is devoted to 20th century topics. This should be the first stop for any student doing a research paper on a topic in U.S. diplomatic history.


The American History Highway: A Guide to Internet Resources on U.S., Canadian, and Latin American History / Dennis A. Trinkle, and Scott A. Merriman. - Armonk, N.Y.: M.E. Sharpe, 2007. - Dennis A. Trinkle and Scott A. Merriman, editors.; Includes index. - Call Number: E16.5.A46
Organized under topical and chronological headings, this guide features 37 chapters with annotated citations to web sites selected by the editors as useful for historical research. The book contains a CD-ROM with a PDF version of the text for easier direct-to-web browsing of the contents.


Handbook for Research in American History: A Guide to Bibliographies and other Reference Works / Francis Paul Prucha. - Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, c1994. - ix, 214 p. ; 23 cm. - Includes index. - Call Number: REF E178.P78
One of the best guides to reference sources in history. Describes 1,000 titles under 19 source-type categories, including manuscripts, oral history materials, government documents, local history collections, statistics, and picture sources. Does not include the web.


Latino Americans and Political Participation: A Reference Handbook / Sharon Ann Navarro and Armando Xavier Mejia. - Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2004. - xxiv, 321 p. : ill. ; 24 cm. - Includes bibliographical references (p. 289-304) and index. - Call Number: E184.S75 L3557
An excellent reference guide that focuses on the fastest growing and arguably most diverse U.S. ethnic group. Chapters range from protest politics to electoral politics and from interest groups to Latina/os in office. Students can read these chapters in their entirety for comparative analysis, or they can read chapters in parts if their particular interest is solely on Mexican Americans, Latinas, or historical contexts, for example. Students can also refer to the excellent references at the end of each chapter and are encouraged take full advantage of the last 90 pages, which include primary documents, a glossary of key people, laws, and terms, and an annotated bibliography of major organizations. Given the complexities of studying Latina/os and of studying political participation, this particular volume is an excellent reference for anyone interested in studying Latina/o politics. [Choice]


United States History: A Selective Guide to Information Sources / Ron Blazek, and Anna H. Perrault. - Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 1994. - Includes indexes.; Electronic reproduction. Boulder, Colo. : NetLibrary, 2000. Available via World Wide Web. - E178.B57 [E-BOOK]
The editors successfuly span the chasm between traditional listings of sources in American history and the burgeoning literature of the "new" history's attention to social and economic history of minorities, urban areas, science and technology, and popular culture during the last 30 years. Arranged by broad topic areas (general, politics and government, diplomacy, military, regional history, economics) the guide balances its focus by devoting 420 of its 947 main entries to the section on social, cultural, and intellectual history. Content coverage ends in 1975, but sources were published as late as 1993. Many main entries offer, besides lucid evaluative annotations, cross-references to "minor entries." There is an author-title-subject index. Entries are subdivided somewhat artificially in each subject category into sections entitled "library resources," "bibliographic sources," "information sources," and "biographical sources," and annotations spotlight strong points for the source, such as biographies, for particular groups of users. An essay prefacing each topic describes: publishing and research trends in that area; related associations and their publications; data sets such as census and those of Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research, and the usefulness of indexes available in electronic format. Please note that a personal netLibrary account is required for off-campus access to the electronic version. [Choice]


U.S. Latino Issues / Rodolfo Acuana. - Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2003 - p. cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF E184.S75 67


Women in U.S. History: A Resource Guide / Lyda Mary Hardy. - Englewood, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, 2000. - Lyda Mary Hardy.; Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF HQ1410.H364
This useful guide provides critically annotated listings of a variety of materials in women's history, including secondary monographs, published primary sources, reference materials, videos, and internet resources. The book is organized into sections providing chronological coverage of women in US history from Colonial times to the present, different ethnic groups, areas of accomplishment, historiography, the theory and methodology of women's history, and a brief section on women's history in the curriculum. Intended to be selective rather than comprehensive, the guide is a good starting point for research.

Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website