Skip to main content

HIST3140: History of New Jersey: Web-Based Digital Collections

Resources for research in the history of New Jersey.

Web-Based Digital Collections

250+ Killer Digital Libraries and Archives (Open Education Database)
This list contains over 250 libraries and archives that focus mainly on localized, regional, and U.S. history, but it also includes larger collections, eText and eBook repositories, and a short list of directories to help you continue your research efforts. The sites listed here are mainly open access, which means that the digital formats are viewable and usable by the general public.


AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
A large and growing directory of links to historical documents on the web, organized chronologically. Maintained by by George Laughead Jr., manager of the World Wide Web Virtual Library for United States History.
http://www.vlib.us/amdocs/


American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
American Memory is a large-scale project of the Library of Congress to make available multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library's Americana collections. Over 100 historical collections are now available through this site, including over seven million digitized items (e.g., maps, pamphlets, sheet music, photographs, broadsides, films, sound recordings, notebooks, periodicals and manuscripts). Among the many notable collections in American Memory is Working in Paterson: Occupational Heritage in an Urban Setting.
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amhome.html


American Women: A Gateway to Library of Congress Resources for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States
This site "contains a slightly expanded and fully searchable version of the print publication 'American Women: A Library of Congress Guide for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States' ... with added illustrations and links to existing digitized material located throughout the Library of Congress Web site." Includes books, maps, manuscripts, music, images, and other research materials. Browsable and searchable. From the American Memory Project of the Library of Congress. [Librarians' Internet Index]
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/awhhtml/


EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History - Selected Transcriptions, Facsimiles and Translations
"These links connect to Western European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. They shed light on key historical happenings within the respective countries and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social and cultural history. The order of documents is chronological wherever possible." Also sections on Medieval and Renaissance Europe; and Europe as a supranational region. Maintained by librarian Richard Hacken.
http://eudocs.lib.byu.edu/index.php/Main_Page


European History Primary Sources
European History Primary Sources (EHPS) is a joint initiative of the Library and the Department of History and Civilization of the European University Institute in Florence, Italy. It is also part of the WWW Virtual Library History Central Catalogue that is hosted at the EUI. The purpose of EHPS is to provide an easily searchable index of scholarly digital repositories that contain primary sources for the history of Europe. As the number of digital archives on the internet continues to grow, finding and selecting digital repositories becomes increasingly difficult. EHPS strives to fill that gap by listing the most important collections of digital primary sources for the history of Europe, either as a whole or for single countries. EHPS is updated continuously and we invite all users to send us their suggestions for websites to include.
http://primary-sources.eui.eu/


The European Library
Designed to meet the needs of the research community worldwide, our online portal offers quick and easy access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries. Users can cross-search and reuse over 11,639,684 digital items and 107,209,475 bibliographic records.
http://www.theeuropeanlibrary.org/tel4/


Europeana: Explore Europe's Cultural Collections
Europeana offers more than 14.6 million items, all from European libraries, museums, archives, and other collections. Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage. Ideas and inspiration can be found within the millions of items on Europeana. These objects include: Images - paintings, drawings, maps, photos and pictures of museum objects; Texts - books, newspapers, letters, diaries and archival papers; Sounds - music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, discs and radio broadcasts; and Videos - films, newsreels and TV broadcasts.
http://www.europeana.eu/portal/


Internet History Sourcebooks Project
The Internet History Sourcebooks Project [IHSP] is a world wide web project designed to provide easy access to primary sources and other teaching materials in a non-commercial environment. It was developed and is edited by Paul Halsall with the aid of numerous other contributors. The project currently provides access to primary sources covering ancient, medieval, and modern history; Byzantine studies; African, East Asian, Indian, Islamic, Jewish, and lesbian and gay history; the history of science, and women's history.
http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/


New York Public Library Digital Gallery
The New York Public Library Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/


Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (Library of Congress)
The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints and Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship. The collections of the Prints and Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
http://www.loc.gov/pictures/


World History Primary Sources
A collection of links to world history primary sources online selected by the National History Day staff.
http://www.nhd.org/WorldHistoryPrimarySources.htm


Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website