Skip to main content

HIST3140: History of New Jersey: Newspapers and Other Periodicals

Resources for research in the history of New Jersey.

Newspapers and Other Periodicals

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Chronicling America is a prototype web site providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program. The site now provides access to more than 4.1 million searchable newspaper pages from 581 newspaper titles, published in 25 states and the District of Columbia between 1836 and 1922. The project will continue to add content until newspapers from every U.S. state are included.
http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/

Directory of New Jersey Newspapers, 1765-1970 / edited by William C. Wright, Paul A. Stellhorn. - Trenton: New Jersey Historical Commission, 1977. - xxi, 319 p. : facsim. ; 26 cm. - Includes index. - Call Number: REF Z6952.N54D57
A useful compilation of the newspapers published in New Jersey from the colonial period through 1970, organized by place of publication. Somewhat dated, but still a good source to use for identifying historical newspapers and the libraries that own them.

Making of America at Cornell University
Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts. The Making of America collection comprises the digitized pages of books and journals. This system allows you to view scanned images of the actual pages of the 19th century texts. The current collection includes the following:
 
  • The American Missionary (1878 - 1901)
  • The American Whig Review (1845 - 1852)
  • The Atlantic Monthly (1857 - 1901)
  • The Bay State Monthly (1884 - 1886)
  • The Century (1881 - 1899)
  • The Continental Monthly (1862 - 1864)
  • The Galaxy (1866 - 1878)
  • Harper's New Monthly Magazine (1850 - 1899)
  • The International Monthly Magazine (1850 - 1852)
  • The Living Age (1844 - 1900)
  • Manufacturer and Builder (1869 - 1894)
  • The New England Magazine (1886 - 1900)
  • The New-England Magazine (1831 - 1835)
  • New Englander (1843 - 1892)
  • The North American Review (1815 - 1900)
  • The Old Guard (1863 - 1867)
  • Punchinello (1870)
  • Putnam's Monthly (1853 - 1870)
  • Scientific American (1846 - 1869)
  • Scribner's Magazine (1887 - 1896)
  • Scribner's Monthly (1870 - 1881)
  • The United States Democratic Review (1837 - 1859)

Making of America at the University of Michigan
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The current collection includes the following:
 
  • American Jewess 1895-1899 (hosted on behalf of the Jewish Women's Archive)
  • Appleton's 1869-1881 (2 series)
  • Catholic World 1865-1901
  • DeBow's 1846-1869 + 1952 index (3 series)
  • Garden and Forest 1888-1897 (hosted on behalf of the Library of Congress)
  • Journal of the United States Association of Charcoal Iron Workers 1880-1891
  • Ladies Repository 1841-1876 (3 series)
  • The Old Guard 1864
  • Overland Monthly 1868-1900 (2 series)
  • Princeton Review 1831-1882 (3 series)
  • Southern Literary Messenger 1835-1864 + 1936 Contributor index
  • Southern Quarterly Review 1842-1857 (3 series)
  • Vanity Fair 1860-1862

National Digital Newspaper Program
The National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of all U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Supported by NEH, this rich digital resource will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress. An NEH grant program will fund the contribution of content from, eventually, all U.S. states and territories.
http://www.loc.gov/ndnp/

New York Times Archive Search (1851-1922) and Current File Search (1980-Present, via ProQuest Newsstand)
Index to the New York Times. Can also be used to identify relevant articles for the period from 1923 through 1979, with access to the newspaper available on microfilm in the Library's Periodicals Deaprtment.

Unz.org's Full-Text Periodical Archive
Launched by business entrepreneur Ron Unz, Unz.org provides full-text access to numerous periodicals, including:
 
  • Daedalus (full-text from 1846 to 1922)
  • The Knickerbocker (full-text from 1837 to 1861)
  • The North American Review (full-text from 1821 to 1939)
  • The Atlantic Monthly (full-text from 1857 to 1922)
  • The Harpers Monthly (full-text from 1851 to 1922)
  • The Century Magazine (full-text from 1870 to 1928)
  • The Nation (full-text from 1886 to 1922)
  • Political Science Quarterly (full-text from 1886 to 1922)
  • Scribners (full-text from 1887 to 1939)
  • The Bookman (full-text from 1895 to 1933)
  • The Forum (full-text from 1890 to 1950)
  • The Literary Digest (full-text from 1897 to 1938)
  • McClure's Magazine (full-text from 1893 to 1913)
  • Munsey's Magazine (full-text from 1894 to 1929)
  • The Outlook (full-text from 1893 to 1935)
  • The Smart Set (full-text from 1900 to 1906)
  • The Living Age (full-text from 1919 to 1941)
  • The New Republic (full-text from 1914 to 1922)
  • Collier's Weekly (full-text from 1926 to 1957)
  • The Communist (full-text from 1927 to 1944)
  • The Labour Monthly (full-text from 1923 to 1976)
  • American Quarterly on the Soviet Union (full-text from 1938 to 1948)
  • The American Review (full-text from 1933 to 1937)

Although in most cases only the public domain (pre-1923) content is available in full text, there are several exceptions where full-text access is available beyond 1923.

U.S. News Archives on the Web (News Division, Special Libraries Association)
This directory is organized by state, focusing on newspapers that maintain archives of older content online. Where possible, the directory indicates how far back content is available, along with any costs to retrieve the full text of articles.
http://www.ibiblio.org/slanews/internet/archives.html

Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website