Skip to main content

HIST3140: History of New Jersey: Databases for Secondary Sources

Resources for research in the history of New Jersey.

Databases for Secondary Sources

Academic Search Complete
Large, interdisciplinary full-text database contains over 8,500 full-text publications, including academic journals, magazines, books, and trade publications. Offers broad subject coverage for a variety of disciplines, including anthropology, area studies, biology, chemistry, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, law, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and many other fields. It is recommended you include the expression "SU History" when searching the database to obtain focused results. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


America: History and Life
Bibliographic database contains over 400,000 citations and abstracts for journal and magazine articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations covering the world's scholarly literature about the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes material from over 2,100 journals and magazines written in over 40 languages, although the majority of items were published in English. Most of the items in the database were issued after 1959. Many records now contain links to full-text articles in other Library databases. Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


ARTstor
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


JSTOR
The JSTOR electronic journal archive includes full-text backfiles for several major scholarly journals in history, education, and sociology. The collection can be searched or browsed. From the openning screen, select appropriate subject collections from the list of disciplines before entering your search terms. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


Lexis-Nexis Academic
Full-text database contains current and archives files for U.S. and foreign newspapers, broadcast media transcripts, congressional news releases, transcripts of congressional hearings, presidential and departmental press briefings, legal news, federal and state statutes and case law, federal regulations, polling data from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, and biographical sources. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central is a large multidisciplinary database indexing over 14,000 publications, the majority of them available in full text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, and more. The publications include over 6,500 scholarly journals, over 3,600 trade publications, over 2,000 magazines and newspapers, and over 800 industry reports, plus dissertations and theses, company annual reports, and videos. Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


ProQuest Newsstand
ProQuest Newsstand offers full-text news from over 1,280 sources, including domestic and foreign newspapers, wire services, magazines, trade publications, and blogs. Over 50 of the highest-circulation newspapers in the United States are included in the database, including such key titles as the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, the Los Angeles Times, the San Jose Mercury News, the Washington Post, the Chicago Tribune, the Houston Chronicle, the Philadelphia Inquirer/Daily News, the Denver Post, and many others. Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective, 1890-1982
Access to citations from over 3 million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines spanning the period from 1890 to 1982. Includes articles from the most widely read popular periodicals of the day, journals of news and opinion, and a selection of research publications. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


Women's Studies International
This bibliographic database covers the core disciplines in women’s studies, including sociology, history, political science and economy, public policy, international relations, arts and humanities, business and education. Sources indexed include journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites and web documents, and grey literature. Over 2,000 periodical sources are represented. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website