LibGuides: CISE3700: Multiple Literacies: Online Sources to Find Juvenile Informational Texts

Databases for Students, Grades 5-12

These online databases are sources of informational text for elementary students. With the exception of World Book all are available free through the NJ State Library and should be available in most elementary schools.

Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text database with content from over 140 middle school magazines and other resources. Include reading level (Lexiles). Free through NJ State Library.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text database that provides multiple viewpoints on current issues. Includes an overview, point and counterpoint essays on 200 topics, as well as supplementary information.

Databases for Teachers and Librarians

These online subscription databases are useful for finding children's literature. The Cheng Library will not have many of the titles listed. You may need to use your local public or school library.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
Contains over one million fiction/non-fiction titles, hundreds of thousands of awards and professional reviews including author/title links, lesson plans and teaching guides. The search engine offers multiple options including 50 search filters for finding materials to determine interest and reading levels, selecting trade books based on standards, creating thematic and annotated biographies, interpreting reviews, developing classroom collections, book challenges and collection development. [1761 - present]
NoveList K-8 Plus This link opens in a new window
Subject access for over 59,000 fiction and nonfiction titles aimed at K-8 students. Also offers full-text reviews. Free through NJ State Library

Booklists from the CMC

The CMC staff have created these and other booklists on topics of interest to K-12 instruction. Here's a link to the complete list.

Arabs and Muslims: Their culture through literature
This is a selected list of resources available at the Cheng Library for teaching about the culture of Arabs and Muslims to students in Grades K-12.
Celebrating Black Pride
A selected list of materials about African Americans for teachers in the Pre-K -12 classroom.
Graphic Novels
This is a selected list of graphic novels (& non-fiction). The term is generally used to describe any book written in a comic book format that follows the length and form of a novel, but may also depict historical events, great literature, or a lengthy classic comic. Graphic novels encourage reading for pleasure and are a wonderful way to get reluctant readers interested in books.
Mentor Texts Fiction
Mentor texts are pieces of literature that serve as models for young writers. The titles on this list are available in the Curriculum Materials Center of the David and Lorraine Cheng Library.
Mentor Texts Nonfiction
Mentor texts are pieces of literature that serve as models for young writers. The titles on this list are available in the Curriculum Materials Center of the David and Lorraine Cheng Library.
Outstanding Science Trade Books for Students K–12
These annual lists are selected by a panel from the National Science Teachers Association (NSTA) and the Children's Book Council (CBC) and identifies outstanding titles for grades K-12.
Teaching Asia: A Selected List of Books
Teaching Asia is a selected list of resources available in the Curriculum Materials Center at the Cheng Library that can be helpful when developing units to teach about Asia in Grades K-12.
Teaching Resources about Latin America and the Caribbean
This is a selected list of materials that can be helpful when teaching about Latin America and the Caribbean in Grades K-12. Titles identified include picture books, novels, folklore, poetry, and biographies. Factual books on individual countries are also available in the Curriculum Materials Center.
Notable Social Studies Trade Books For Young People
An annual reading list of exceptional books by the Children's Book Council for use in social studies classrooms, selected by social studies educators appointed by the NCCS, in the K-12 classroom.

Education Librarian

Neil Grimes

Email Me

Contact:

Education & Curriculum Materials Librarian
Office, Room 114c
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-3184

Subjects: Education Research, Education, Elementary & Early Childhood P-8, Education, Middle & Secondary 6-12, Educational Leadership and Professional Studies