Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search Books & Media
Search the Cheng Library online catalog for books and media. If you need journal articles, go to our Databases page.
Resources for Media
Here are some resources about text or media sets:
Teach With Movies
Use this index to identify possible titles. Use the Library's Online Catalog or NJVid to see if the titles are available at WPU.
Over 1000 streaming videos accessible by William Paterson faculty and students. Use your WPU username and password to access.
Recommended Websites and Apps
Great Websites for Kids
Great Websites for Kids identifies outstanding websites for children from birth to age 14. The websites are evaluated by a committee of the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association. Additions are made three times a year and all sites are checked at least twice a year. The list is divided by subject area. All entries identify appropriate audience.
Best Websites for Teaching and Learning
Best Websites for Teaching & Learning identifies high quality internet resources for teaching and learning by the American Association of School Librarians of the American Library Association. All websites are free and encourage exploration and discovery. The list is divided by pedagogical categories such as media sharing, digital storytelling, social networking, content resources, etc.
Best Apps for Teaching and Learning
Selected by the American Association of School Librarians, a division of the American Library Association, Best Apps for Teaching & Learning encourage exploration and discovery. Listed in alphabetical order each entry briefly describes the app, identifies its platform and appropriate age level. The corresponding AASL Standard is also identified.
Common Sense Media
Designed for use by parents and teachers Common Sense Media evaluates movies, games, apps, websites, television shows, books and music. Searchable by age, entertainment type, topics, etc. this website provides reviews for over 20,000 products.
Databases for Students, Grades 5-12
These online databases are sources of informational text for elementary students. With the exception of World Book all are available free through the NJ State Library and should be available in most elementary schools.
Middle Search Plus
Full-text database with content from over 140 middle school magazines. Includes reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays, as well as primary source documents in American history, material from popular middle school reference resources, and an image collection of over 290,000 photos, maps and flags. Cost: Free through NJ State Library
Points of View Reference Center
Full-text database designed to provide multiple sides of a variety of current issues. The database currently offers materials on 200 topics, and each topic section features an overview along with point and counterpoint essays drawn from a variety of sources, plus supplementary information including primary source documents and guides to critical thinking.
World Book Online
Online version of the World Book Encyclopedia also includes an atlas, a dictionary, links to New Jersey curriculum correlations and lesson plans, and a guide to New Jersey resources.