Skip to main content

HIST2220: Technology in World History: Statistical Resources

Statistical Resources

Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970 / United States. Bureau of the Census. - Bicentennial ed. Washington: U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census : for sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1975. - 2 v; Includes bibliographical references and indexes.; House document (United States. Congress (93rd, 1st session : 1973). House) ; no. 93-78. - Call Number: REF HA202.B87 [OR ONLINE]
Standard two-volume digest of historical statistics originally produced for the Bicentennial. Very convenient lookup tool for statistical data, now entirely online in two PDF files, one for each volume.


Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present / Susan B. Carter. - Millennial ed. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2006. - Susan B. Carter ... [et al.].; 5 v. : ill. ; 29 cm; Rev. update of: Historical statistics of the United States, colonial times to 1970. Bicentennial ed. Washington : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, 1975.; Includes bibliographical references and indexes.; v. 1. Population -- v. 2. Work and welfare -- v. 3. Economic structure and performance -- v. 4. Economic sectors -- v. 5. Governance and international relations. - Call Number: REF HA202.H57
Five-volume "Millennial Edition" of this standard statistical reference is the basic starting point for all historical questions that might require the use of statistical evidence. Drawn from a wide variety of sources and comprehensive in its topical scope.


Two Thousand Years of Economic Statistics: World Population, GDP, and PPP [E-BOOK] / Aleksandr V. Avakov. - New York: Algora Publishing, 2010. - 1 online resource (400 pages). - Includes bibliographical references. - Call Number: HC21.A935 2010eb


United States Historical Census Data Browser
This site, hosted by the University of Virginia Library, provides census data for each U.S. state and county from 1790 to 1970. The information was drawn from a statistical data file created by the the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) [Study Number 0003, "Historical Demographic, Economic and Social Data: The United States, 1790-1970"]. The online viewing tools work best for browsing.
http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/census/


Warfare and Armed Conflicts: A Statistical Reference to Casualty and Other Figures, 1500-2000, 2nd Edition / Micheal Clodfelter. - Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland, 2002. - xvi, 840 p. ; 28 cm. - Includes bibliographical references (p. 793-800) and index. - Call Number: REF D214.C54
The major aim of this work is to enable readers to track and record, so far as possible, the casualties of four centuries of warfare. Conflicts are arranged chronologically by century, subdivided by region. Entries, ranging in length from a paragraph to a chapter, give the names and dates of conflicts, strategies and battle details, outcomes and impacts, and casualties.


World Economic Historical Statistics [E-BOOK] / Carlos Sabillon. - New York: Algora Pub., 2005. - xvi, 222 pages. - Includes bibliographical references (pages 196-221). - Call Number: HA155.S23 2005eb


Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website