Skip to main content

HIST2220: Technology in World History: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Credo Reference's Academic Core
This page offers a portal to reference content on social movements from Credo Reference's collection of over 720 full-text reference titles, along with other subscription resources available from the Cheng Library. A good starting point for getting oriented to your topic.

Some Other Very Useful Reference Titles for Topic Development Include the Following (E-Book Titles are Noted Where Available):

An Encyclopaedia of the History of Technolology [E-BOOK] / Ian McNeil. - London: Routledge, 1990. - xv, 1062 pages : illustrations . - Includes bibliographies. - Call Number: T15.E53 1990eb


Medieval Science and Technology / Elspeth Whitney - Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2004. - Greenwood guides to historic events of the medieval world. - ix, 258 pages ; 25 cm. - Includes bibliographical references (pages [233]-248) and index. - Call Number: Q124.97 .W45 2004


The Oxford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Science, and Technology in Islam / Ibrahim Kalin. - Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2014. - 2 volumes ; 26 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF Q127.I742 O94 2014


Encyclopedia of 20th Century Technology [E-BOOK] / Colin Hempstead and William E. Worthington, eds. - New York: Routledge, 2005. - 1 online resource (2 volumes) : illustrations. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: T9.E462 2005eb


McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology - New York: McGraw-Hill, 2002. - 20 volumes : illustrations (some color) ; 29 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF Q121.M3 2007


The Cutting Edge: An Encyclopedia of Advanced Technologies - New York: Oxford University Press, 2000. - 360 pages : illustrations ; 26 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: T9.C96 2000
Contains over one hundred alphabetically arranged articles that provide information about some of the advanced technologies and techniques available in the modern world, and includes bibliographies and cross references.


Medieval Science, Technology, and Medicine: An Encyclopedia / Thomas F. Glick, Steven John Livesey, and Faith Wallis. - New York: Routledge, 2005. - xxv, 598 pages : illustrations ; 29 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: Q124.97.M43 2005


Science, Technology, and Society: An Encyclopedia / Sal P. Restivo. - Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2005. - xxiv, 700 pages ; 27 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: HM846.S43 2005


Encyclopedia of Science and Technology / James S. Trefil. - New York: Routledge, 2001. - 554 pages : color illustrations, color maps ; 29 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF Q121.E53 2001
Contains approximately one thousand alphabetically arranged entries that provide information about topics in science, technology, and medicine, and includes cross-references, photographs, charts, diagrams, drawings, and sidebars and reports.


Social Issues in Science and Technology: An Encyclopedia / David E. Newton. - Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 1999. - x, 303 pages : illustrations ; 26 cm. - Includes bibliographical references (pages 291-296) and index. - Call Number: Q175.5.N49 1999


Encyclopedia of the Scientific Revolution: From Copernicus to Newton / Wilbur Applebaum. - New York: Garland Pub., 2000. - xxxv, 758 pages : illustrations ; 29 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and index. - Call Number: REF Q125.E53 2000
This encyclopedia focuses on scientific development in the 16th and 17th centuries, when the field of science underwent tremendous advances and discoveries. The 441 articles cover scientists, processes, phenomena, philosophy, religion, and professional societies.


Groundbreaking Scientific Experiments, Inventions, and Discoveries of the 17th Century [E-BOOK] / Michael Windelspecht. - Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002. - xxviii, 270 pages : illustrations. - Includes bibliographical references (pages [257]-260) and indexes. - Call Number: Q125.W7917 2002eb


Groundbreaking Scientific Experiments, Inventions, and Discoveries of the 19th Century / Michael Windelspecht. - Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2003. - xxvii, 270 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm. - Includes bibliographical references (pages [251]-256) and indexes. - Call Number: REF Q125.W79173 2003


Science in the Enlightenment: An Encyclopedia [E-BOOK] / William E. Burns. - Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2012. - xxvii, 355 pages : illustrations ; 27 cm. - Includes bibliographical references (pages 315-326) and index. - Call Number: REF Q121.B87 2003


Science in the Enlightenment: An Encyclopedia [E-BOOK] / William E. Burns. - Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2012. - xxvii, 355 pages : illustrations ; 27 cm. - Includes bibliographical references (pages 315-326) and index. - Call Number: REF Q121.B87 2003


Science in the Early Twentieth Century: An Encyclopedia [E-BOOK] / Jacob Darwin Hamblin. - Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2005. - Includes bibliographical references (pages 367-377) and index. - Call Number: Q125.H345 2005eb


Science in the Ancient World: An Encyclopedia [E-BOOK] / Russell M. Lawson. - Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2012. - xxv, 291 pages : illustrations ; 27 cm. - Includes bibliographical references. - Call Number: Q124.95.L39 2004eb


Science in the Contemporary World: An Encyclopedia [E-BOOK] / Eric Gottfrid Swedin. - Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2005. - xxv, 382 pages : illustrations ; 27 cm. - Includes bibliographical references (pages 327-335) and index. - Call Number: Q121.S94 2005eb


Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website