Skip to main content

HIST2220: Technology in World History: Biographical Resources

Biographical Resources

Biographical Database:

Biography Reference Bank
This full-text database contains thousands of full-text biographical essays for historical and contemporary figures, drawn from a wide variety of published sources. The essays vary in length and quality, but most include substantial detail and a selected bibliography. Several entires also contain links to related resources (e.g., articles about the subject). Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


Full-Text Reference Database Containing Biographies:

Credo Reference's Academic Core
The Credo Reference database is a portal to over 720 full-text reference titles from over 80 major publishers. Easy to search and browse, the Credo platform provides access to text, images, maps, statistics, and graphic concept maps to illustrate connections among and between topics. It also includes many biographical essays from a wide variety of sources pertaining to the history of science and technology.


Biographical Reference Books:

Biographical Dictionary of the History of Technology / Lance Day and Ian McNeil. - London: Routledge, 1996. - xiii, 844 pages ; 26 cm. - Includes bibliographical references and indexes. - Call Number: REF T39.B49 1996


World Who's Who in Science: A Biographical Dictionary of Notable Scientists from Antiquity to the Present / Allen G. Debus. - Chicago: Marquis Who's Who, Inc., 1968. - xvi, 1855 pages ; 28 cm. - Bibliography: page xi. - Call Number: REF Q141.W7


Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website