Skip to main content

HIST2220: Technology in World History: Databases for Articles

Databases for Secondary Sources

Useful Databases for Articles on HIST 2220 Topics

Historical Abstracts
Bibliographic database contains over 640,000 citations and abstracts for journal and magazine articles, books and book chapters, conference papers, and dissertations covering the world's scholarly literature on modern world history (15th century-present), excluding the United States and Canada. Includes material from over 2,690 journals and magazines written in over 40 languages. Most of the items in the database were issued after 1954. Many records contain links to full-text articles in other Library databases. Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.

America: History and Life
Bibliographic database contains over 450,000 citations and abstracts for journal and magazine articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations covering the world's scholarly literature about the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes material from over 1,820 journals and magazines written in over 40 languages, although the majority of items were published in English. Most of the items in the database were issued after 1954. Many records contain links to full-text articles in other Library databases. Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.

Academic Search Complete
Large, interdisciplinary full-text database contains over 8,500 full-text publications, including academic journals, magazines, books, and trade publications. Offers broad subject coverage for a variety of disciplines, including anthropology, area studies, biology, chemistry, ethnic and multicultural studies, food science and technology, general science, geography, law, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion and theology, women's studies, and many other fields. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.

JSTOR
The JSTOR electronic journal archive includes full-text backfiles for several major scholarly journals in history, education, and sociology. The collection can be searched or browsed. From the openning screen, select appropriate subject collections from the list of disciplines before entering your search terms. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.

ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central is a large multidisciplinary database indexing over 14,000 publications, the majority of them available in full text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences, and more. The publications include over 6,500 scholarly journals, over 3,600 trade publications, over 2,000 magazines and newspapers, and over 800 industry reports, plus dissertations and theses, company annual reports, and videos. Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.

Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective, 1890-1982
Access to citations from over 3 million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines spanning the period from 1890 to 1982. Includes articles from the most widely read popular periodicals of the day, journals of news and opinion, and a selection of research publications. Please note that online access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.


Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website