Skip to main content

COMM2200: Radio and TV Industries: Web Resources

This guide provides an overview of relevant resources related to radio and television.

Trade Associations

Audio Engineering Society - AES is the only professional society devoted exclusively to audio technology. Founded in the United States in 1948, the AES has grown to become an international organization that unites audio engineers, creative artists, scientists and students worldwide by promoting advances in audio and disseminating new knowledge and research.

Music Video Trade Association MVTA  is a non-profit trade organization created to address the mutual concerns of its members in today's highly competitive, ever-changing music video industry. Its membership includes the majority of music video production and post-production companies, as well as individuals 

National Association of Broadcasters -NAB is a trade association, workers union, and lobby group representing the interests of for-profit, over-the-air radio and television broadcasters in the United States.

National Cable & Television Association  NCTA is the principal trade association for the U.S. cable industry, representing cable operators serving more than 90 percent of the nation's cable television households and more than 200 cable program networks. 

Suggested Websites

Academy of Television Arts & Sciences The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, home of the Emmy Awards, is devoted to the advancement of telecommunication arts and sciences and to fostering creative leadership in the telecommunication industry.

Archive of American Television The Archive collects in-depth video interviews with TV's greatest legends and pioneers. Browse the interviews by person, show, topic or profession.

Center for Media and Public Affairs The Center for Media and Public Affairs (CMPA) is a nonpartisan research and educational organization which conducts scientific studies of news and entertainment media. CMPA's goal is to provide an empirical basis for ongoing debates over media coverage and impact through well-documented, timely, and readable studies.

Media History Digital Library The Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The project is supported by owners of materials who loan them for scanning, and donors who contribute funds to cover the cost of scanning.

Museum of Broadcast Communications The searchable online archives provide information on many classic and contemporary television and radio programs, television commercials, and newscasts. A portion of this site, The Encyclopedia of Television, offers essays on programs, people and a variety of television topics.

National Radio Hall of Fame The National Radio Hall of Fame has been created to commemorate the giants of a medium that has permeated American society for most of the 20th century.

Paley Center for Media The Paley Center for Media is dedicated to the discussion of the cultural, creative and social significance of television, radio and emerging platforms for the professional community and media-interested public.

Radio Magazine Industry magazine covers the technology of radio broadcasting in North America.

Television News Archive Index to abstracts of network TV news programs since 1968. Various collections cover the evening news, special reports, specific events, etc.

TV Week With its exclusive coverage of the people, events, programming and new technology trends that affect the industry, TVWeek aims to be the insider's guide to the business behind the screens.

Have a Question? Contact a Librarian:

By phone

Call 973-720-2116

The Reference Desk is staffed until 10pm Sunday-Thursday, 5pm Friday and until 4pm on Saturday.

By e-mail

Send your question to the Reference Desk via email - refdesk@wpunj.edu