Skip to main content

COMM2200: Radio and TV Industries: Locating Resources

This guide provides an overview of relevant resources related to radio and television.

Locating Articles

To locate articles using Library databases, you can click on Databases link on the Library homepage. You can browse them by subject or you can select the first letter of the database name from the alphabetical directory. Databases are accessible from off campus and some of the databases you may find useful to locate communication and media related articles include those listed below. 

Broadcasting and Cable

Search Tip: Keywords

It is usually a good idea to start out broadly, so using just one or two of your topic terms is a good way to begin. Once you have a set of results, you can begin narrowing down your results by entering one or more terms. Searching in a specific field such as "Subject" or "Title" will narrow or focus your results. 

Search Tip: Truncation

Truncation Finds Multiple Word Forms

The asterisk (*) is usually used to search words with the same root:

 Person* =  Personal, Personality, Personable,  etc.

Wildcard symbols (usually a ‘?’) replace a single letter:

Wom?n = Woman, Women

Locating Articles

ABI Inform/Proquest ABI is a major business database. It includes articles published in business periodicals, trade publications, and academic journals

Business Source Premier Business Source Premier is a major business database. It includes articles from popular business magazines, trade publications and academic journals. Also includes company profiles from MarketLine that include a SWOT analysis. 

Proquest Newstream Full-text access to newspapers and other news media from the United States, Canada, Africa, Asia, Oceania, Europe, Latin America, and the Middle East. 

Locating Company Information

Hoover's Academic This database contains detailed proprietary information about more than 40,000 public and non-public companies, 600 industries, and 225,000 key executives, with additional information about 90 million companies worldwide.

 IBIS World -US Industry Reports and iExpert  Industry Summaries A specialist in industry information, IBISWorld provides research and analysis of over 700 U.S. industries and almost 4,000 product segments. he reports, updated regularly, provide detailed and comprehensive industry overviews, performance evaluations, an analysis of products and markets, the competitive landscape, an examination of major companies in each industry, operating conditions, and key statistics.

Locating Statistical Information

Statista The Statista database is a portal to statistical information, pulling together data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single platform.

 

 

Infographic: The State of Video Streaming in the United States | Statista
You will find more statistics at Statista