Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Independent Audience Measurement & Analysis
Alexa finds metrics on specific web domains. Enter a web address to find traffic rankings, engagement metrics, audience demographics, search engine traffic, etc. There is also a ranked list of the top 500 sites globally, by country, or by category (including shopping s u b c a t -
egories). A subscription offers more details, but there is much useful free information.
Alliance for Audited Media (AAM)
Formerly Audit Bureau of Circulation (ABC). AAM well-known for providing audited circulation figures for newspapers, consumer magazines, and other print periodicals—now also measures digital media audiences. Without a membership,2 the site offers some sample reports, but more AAM/ABC data can be found elsewhere (see MRI+ below).
Provides audience ratings and measurement services for e-commerce. Search the comScore Datamine for statistical charts on media usage or look for information in press releases.
Experian Marketing Services (Simmons)
A syndicated data service that offers detailed insights on consumer media behavior. You’ll often see Experian/Simmons quoted in the press. You can find some free trend reports on the Experian site.
Gains insight into consumer media behavior via their Survey of the American Consumer. You won’t find extensive reports for free; but a keyword search of the site might find a key fact in a press release or sample table.
Ipsos content is especially strong for topics related to digital marketing and to the affluent market. Free registration will take you to Knowledge & Ideas library (articles, online videos on topics related to advertising, customer loyalty, marketing, and media strategy.)
MRI+ (Mediamark Research
The most useful free site for students planning ads in magazine media. This database of specific magazine titles provides audited circulation figures, magazine descriptions, audience demographics, and more. Interactive features allow students to specify criteria (such as ad size and dates) to compute ad costs. Consumer and trade magazines can be searched by title, subject area, circulation or audience, etc. Students
must register for free access to MRI+.
Nielsen (now owns Arbitron)
Famous for collecting data on television audiences, Nielsen actually provides clients with a wide range of data on consumer media and marketing behavior. At the site, you’ll find top ten lists for television, books, movies, music, video games, and websites. You can find key statistics in newswires and reports.
Other Media Sites
Box Office Mojo
An online movie publication and box office reporting service. Box Office Mojo was acquired by IMDb.com, Inc. in July 2008.
Network Advertising Initiative (NAI)
NAI members agree to a code of conduct for online interest-based advertising—a form of industry self-regulation that deals with issues of consumer privacy and data collection. Students may benefit from the site’s explanations of how online advertising works. Consumers can use an online form at the site to opt-out of interest-based advertising from member firms.
New Marketing Institute—Media-Math
Provides educational materials related to online advertising and the use of technology platforms to automate ad purchases. Although there is a fee for courses, the site offers free videos and articles.
Print in the Mix—Rochester Institute of Technology
This clearinghouse provides summaries of media research and has expanded to include digital media.
State of the News Media—Pew Research Center
This annual report covers trends in news media, including digital news media, newspapers, news magazines, television news, and radio news, as well as ethnic and alternative media. It provides audience statistics/rankings for top news outlets.