Skip to Main Content
Lesson Plans and Teaching Activities
- Children's Storybooks Online
- This web site has original illustrated stories for children from Preschool to High School.(Some stories have audio clips.) Includes links to phonics web sites, riddles, puzzles and coloring book pages.
Grades: PreK - 12
- Graphic Classroom
- Creator Chris Wilson uses a blog to review graphic novels and make recommendations for their use in the K-12 classroom. If available links to lesson plans are provided. Searchable by keyword, as well as by topics, this blog provides reviews, articles and additional links about graphic novels.
Grades: K - 12
- International Children's Digital Library
- This site can be used by children, parents, teachers, and librarians. Teachers can use the books on this site to provide multicultural awareness for their students. Teachers and children can take these stories and create different activities, such as scavenger hunts, creative writing ideas, and even learn a foreign language. On the home page, click on first time visitor and you will easily understand how to navigate the site.
Grades: PreK - 8
- NEA--Read Across America
- Read Across America Day, is a national reading celebration that takes place each year on or near March 2, the birthday of Dr. Seuss. This website provides teachers, librarians and parents the ideas, resources, activities, reproducibles, etc. not only for this event but to keep reading kids reading throughout the year. Sponsored by the NEA (National Education Association).
Grades: PreK - 6
- Reading Rockets
- Sponsored by public television station WETA, Reading Rockets is a literacy initiative to help children learn to read, and to help parents, teachers, librarians and other professionals support children in their reading. The website includes research-based strategies, videos and podcasts, information about children's book authors and many additional resources.
Grades: PreK - 5
- Web English Teacher
- An award winning collection of Language Arts lesson plans and teaching ideas primarily for grades 6-12, but also includes K-5. Includes links to resources about authors and poets, and playwrights, as well as information about book reports, grammar, media and information literacy, vocabulary and writing. Maintained by English teacher, Carla Beard.
Grades: K - 12
- Words that Heal: Using Children's Literature to Address Bullying
- Part of Anti-bias lesson plans and resources for K-12 Educators developed by the Anti-Defamation League, Words that Heal includes many resources about using literature to reduce bullying. In addition to articles about why and how to use literature in the K-12 classrrom this website has lists of appropriate titles, discussion guides for specific titles, statistics, research, and teaching activities.
Grades: PreK - 12
