Skip to Main Content
Resources
- American Indians in Children's Literature
- Native American librarian, Debbie Reese, created this blog to provide a Native American perspective of children's and young adult literature that includes Native Americans. Included are book reviews, and analysis of stereotypes found in popular culture, school curriculum and society.
Grades: PreK - 12
- Arab American Book Awards
- Sponsored by the Arab American National Museum the Arab American Book Awards is awarded each year for titles in the following categories: Adult Nonfiction, Adult Fiction, Poetry and Children/Young Adult Fiction or Nonfiction. The titles must be written or illustrated by an Arab American, written in English in the previous year, and reflect the Arab American experience.
Grades: K - 12
- Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature
- Part of Special Collections at the University of Florida the Baldwin Library contains more than 130,000 books and periodicals published in the United States and Great Britain from the mid-1600s to present day. Over 6000 titles have been digitized. The Library also has one of the largest collections of Early American children's books in the United States.
Grade: PreK
- Bookshare
- A digital library of over 125,000 titles including both children's, young adult and adult titles, fiction and nonfiction. Membership is free to individuals with a qualifying disability, as well as organizations that serve people with qualifying disabilities.
Grades: PreK - 12
- Carol Hurst's Children's and Young Adult Literature Site
- Reviews of children's books, and how to use them in the classroom. Booklists for particular subjects, curriculum areas and themes, and information about authors and illustrators.
Grades: PreK - 8
- Children's Book Council Online
- With the goal of encouraging reading, the Children's Book Council (CBC) has booklists on special topics, resources for Children's Book Week (celebrated in May) as well as other information about the children's book industry.
Grades: PreK - 12
- Coretta Scott King Book Awards
- Since 1970 the Coretta Scott King Book Awards have honored African Americn authors and illustrators works that "promote understanding and appreciation of the culture of all peoples and their contribution to the realization of the American dream of a pluralistic society." Sponsored by the Ethnic and Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table of the American Library Association.
Grades: PreK - 12
- De Colores: The Raza Experience in Books for Children
- De Colores is a blog that reviews and critiques children's and young adult books about Latinx culture. Edited by Beverly Slapin De Colores also includes essays about teaching about cultures in a respectful manner, and how to identify honest portrayals of Latinx people.
Grades: PreK - 12
- National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped
- A branch of the Library of Congress the National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped provides free audio and braille materials to certified users. This website gives information about how to apply for this service, the range of services available and online catalogs of materials available.
Grades: PreK - 12
- Picturing Books
- Focusing primarily on the artistic process of creating picture books, this website includes interviews with illustrators, lists of author's birthdays, glossaries of artistic and literary terms, and a series of slides explaining the artistic elements of picutre books. A fee-based Picturing Books database is also available.
Grades: PreK - 12
- Social Justice Literature Award
- Established by the Literacy and Social Responsibility Special Interest Group of the International Reading Association this book award was first presented in 2013. Award winners can span a wide range of literature (picture books, poetry, nonfiction, etc.) and should address respect for diversity, promote social responsibility, identify social issues including environmental problems, and be of high literary value.
Grades: K - 8
- Stories to Grow By with Whootie the Owl
- Created by Elaine Lindy this web site has a collection of fold and fairy tales from around the world that reinforce positive behavior. The stories can be printed and have discussion questions. Play scripts and audio clips of stories are also available.
Grades: K - 6
- StoryPlace: The Children's Digital Library
- Developed by The Public Library of Charlotte Mecklenburg County, the StoryPlace provides online stories and activities for both preschoolers and elementary school students in separate "libraries."
Grades: PreK - 5
- YALSA's Book Awards and Booklists
- Each year YALSA (Young Adult Library Services Association), part of the American Library Association, announces awards for best books for adolescent readers. Also available from this webpage are lists of Amazing Audiobooks, Fabulous Films, Great Graphic Novels, Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers, and other lists of outstanding books and media.
Grades: 6 - 12
