LibGuides: Science Education Resources: STEM

Lesson Plans and Teaching Activities

Building Big: Explore construction by type of structure, try labs and challenges and read biographical sketches of people working in a variety of engineering careers. Educators Guide suggests activities and additional resources.
Grades: 5 - 10

Center for Innovation in Engineering and Science Education -- K-12 Education Curriculum: CIESE (administered by Stevens Institute for Technology) works with educators to develop resources for STEM education. The interdisciplinary projects include a description and a link to standards. Most projects are aimed at grades 5 and up, and use real life data.
Grades: PreK - 12

Interactivate: Interactivate has collections of science and math activities, lessons, and discussions with interactive software to teach various concepts. The pull-down menus help you to focus your search. Searches can be limited by grade level, textbooks, and standards. Sponsored by Shodor, a nonprofit organization that provide materials and instruction relating to computational science.
Grades: 3 - 12

National Science Digital Library (NSDL): An extensive collection of links to websites and other online educational resources for teaching and learning. Searchable by subject, education level, resource type and standard. Entries include link, description, grade level and identify standards. Most resources are free.
Grades: PreK - 12

Physclips: A multi level, multi-media resource: Developed by UNSW (University of New South Wales) this website includes videoclips and animations to illustrate the physics concepts of momentum, sound and waves and light, as well as electricity and magnetism and thermal physics. Supporting materials are also available.
Grades: 9 - 12

Sing about Science and Math: Greg Crowther of the University of Washington Created in February of 1999, this web page. It offers songs I have written and co-written about various topics in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics). Many of these songs attempt to deliver content accurately (and some have been validated by educational research), while others are silly. Relatively good ones are marked with gold stars (recommended).
Grades: PreK - 12

Smithsonian Learning Lab: "Discover more than a million resources, create personal collections and educational experiences, and share your work." This website provides digital access to the extensive Smithsonian collection, and provides suggestions to help teachers use the collection effectively.
Grades: 6 - 12

Smithsonian Learning Lab: There are over a million resources available in the Learning Lab representing the Smithsonian's 19 museums, 9 research center and the National Zoo. Educators can use the content and collections for free.
Grades: 3 - 12

StemAZing: From the Office of the Pima County School Superintendent comes an extensive list of resources to teach STEM subjects from early childhood to high school. Includes annotated lists of books, videos, toys, apps, games and "cheap" stuff, all with teaching ideas.
Grades: PreK - 12