LibGuides: Science Education Resources: Earth Science

Associations/Organizations

Association of American Geographers: Education: The Association of American Geographers (AAG) has a number of resources on their Education webpage which are intended to help educators teach geography, earth science, and climate change to their students.
Grades: K - 12

World Weather Information Service: Official weather information for select cities around the world, compiled and sponsored by the Hong Kong Observatory. Forecasts are provided by the weather service in participating 234 countries. Available in 10 languages other than English.
Grades: 6 - 12

Association of American Geographers: Education: The Association of American Geographers (AAG) has a number of resources on their Education webpage which are intended to help educators teach geography, earth science, and climate change to their students.
Grades: K - 12

Eek! Environmental Education for Kids: EEK! is created by the Wisconsin Green Schools Network and features all different aspects from the great outdoors. In the "Critter Corner",you can read about all different animals, bugs, fish and reptiles. Under "Our Earth" section, this area focuses on the environment and ways to help our planet. Most important is the "Teacher Pages" section with lesson plans that incorporate Science, Math, Social Studies and English.
Grades: 1 - 8

Environmental Kids club: This website offers something for both teachers and students. Under the "games" section, students can play interactive games, word searches and crossword puzzles on all different environmental topics. The teachers section has lesson plan ideas, school project ideas, and free printable materials.
Grades: 2 - 8

Exploring Planets in the Classroom: The National Aeronautics and Space Administration created a well informed site that provides an introduction to hurricanes as well as a hurricane's anatomy, storm surge and climatology. There's also an explanation of the Saffir-Simpson hurricane rating scale and explains NASA's role in studying hurricanes. Nice, bright and organized illustrations accompany each section.
Grades: 8 - 12

Frequently asked questions (FAQ's): Hurricanes, Typhoons, and Tropical Cyclones: This site provides information about these types of storms,their characteristics, and how they are forecast. References to historical data, hurricane preparation tips, and an explanation of the difference between a tornado and hurricane are provided. The site is also offered in Spanish and French just by clicking on the flag link.
Grades: 8 - 12

K12 Science: A Portal to SERC's Resources: The Science Education Resource Center (SERC) @ Carleton College has organized this extensive collection of lessons, activities, lab investigations, projects and field trips on a wide range of topics. Searchable by type of type of activity, subject and grade level.
Grades: K - 12

NASA Space Place: Developed by NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration) Space Place includes articles, videos, podcasts, games and other activities that teach about space and earth topics. Explore through topics or do a search to find content of interest. A Spanish version is available.
Grades: 4 - 8

National Geographic Education: Covering a variety of subject areas National Geographic Education tries to inspire the spirit of adventure. Videos, games, lesson plans, unit plans and other learning activities are searchable by grade level and subject area.
Grades: K - 12

National Hurricane Center: The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration has created a "go-to" site for all information on hurricanes, typhoons and tropical cyclones worldwide. It provides up-to-date storm information, analysis tools and satellite tracking, with printable tracking charts. Though the site might seem overwhelming with its vast array of information, teachers can explore a variety of subsections with their students and break down the information they need.
Grades: 9 - 12

NOAA's SciJinks: SciJinks is a joint project of NOAA (National Oceanic and Atmospheris Administration) and NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Adminstration). With informative articles and videos that teach about weather, satellite meteorology, and Earth science. It includes information about careers, web games and teaching activities, including learning modules, pdf's, etc.
Grades: 6 - 12

Online Guides: Meteorology: These online tutorials were developed by graduate student and faculty through a project funded by the National Science Foundation. Covering all aspects of meteorology the modules incorporate text, images, videos, etc. The tutorials were designed for high school and undergraduate level students.
Grades: 6 - 12

SciJinks: A joint project of the NOAA and NASA SciJinks provides information and activities on a variety of weather topics. The Educators section includes some sample lesson plans. The Multimedia section has photos and short videos of weather phenomena. There are also interactive games and biographical information about meteorologists.
Grades: 4 - 12

UCAR Center for Science Education: Sponsored by the University Corporation for Atmospheric Research (UCAR), a consortium of higher education institutions with programs in the atmospheric sciences, the Center for Science Education includes online resources to teach about the weather and weather related topics. The Learning Zone provides videos, games, simulations and other activities.
Grades: 3 - 12

Waste in Place: This website created by Keep America Beautiful is a resource for educators to help their students learn about about litter prevention, beautification and community greening, recycling, and managing solid waste. Each activity comes with fact sheet, the lesson and parent resources. A detailed glossary is also included.
Grades: K - 6

Weather Wiz Kids: This site is designed and maintained by Meteorologist Crystal Wicker of WRTV in Indianapolis. It offers lesson plans and simple experiments on all aspects of the weather. Under the Kid Zone area, you will find links to weather jokes, folklore stories, games and questions that help students absorb all kinds of weather information.
Grades: 3 - 6

Web Weather for Kids: This site is sponsored by the University Corporation for Atmospheric Research. Students learn information and answer questions related to climate, weather,sun/space and atmosphere. The learning zone provides games, simulations, videos and images. Under classroom activities, teachers can find lesson plans, teaching boxes, and experiments that coordinate with these topics.
Grades: 7 - 12