Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Science Education Resources: Life Science

This guides has teaching resources related to science, Grades Pre-K-12

Associations/Organizations

National Association of Biology Teachers (NABT)
The National Association of Biology Teachers (NABT) unites life science educators from around the world to share knowledge and experiences, and to promote professional growth "to provide the best possible biology and life science education for all students."
Grades: K - 12

Bibliographies and Research Guides

Five Senses
This bibliography suggests resources for educators to use for lesson plans in the PreK-12 science classroom.
 
Viruses and Pandemics
A selected list of materials about viral diseases and pandemics for teachers in the K-12 classroom.

Lesson Plans and Teaching Activities

Eek! Environmental Education for Kids
EEK! is created by the Wisconsin Green Schools Network and features all different aspects from the great outdoors. In the "Critter Corner",you can read about all different animals, bugs, fish and reptiles. Under "Our Earth" section, this area focuses on the environment and ways to help our planet. Most important is the "Teacher Pages" section with lesson plans that incorporate Science, Math, Social Studies and English.
Grades: 1 - 8
Encyclopedia of Life (EOL)
The goal of the creators of the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is to "make freely available to anyone knowledge about all the world’s organisms." This global partnership includes Harvard, the Smithsonian Institutions and other scientific institutions. Resources include podcasts, field guides, activities, BioBlitz, and tools for learning about biodiversity. While anyone can contribute, experts ensure quality of the collection.
Grades: 3 - 12
K12 Science: A Portal to SERC's Resources
The Science Education Resource Center (SERC) @ Carleton College has organized this extensive collection of lessons, activities, lab investigations, projects and field trips on a wide range of topics. Searchable by type of type of activity, subject and grade level.
Grades: K - 12
Ology-Climate change
This site created by the American Museum of Natural History is both educational and entertaining. There are several interactive games, stories and hands-on activities that explain different aspects of climate change. The " for educator" link at the bottom opens another screen where a teacher can find dozens of OLogy articles and paired with vocabulary lessons and formative assessments. These units cover Earth, life, and physical science content and are available for elementary through high school students.
Grades: 3 - 12
Science Explorations
Through this Scholastic webaite students can explore six different science areas: Science Web Quests, Classify Insects, Journey into Space, Soar with Bats, Uncover Lizards and Snakes, Investigate the Giant Squid and Animals, Adaptation and the Galapagos Islands. Most topics begin with a video clip, followed by suggested activities. Each section has a Teacher's Guide.
Grades: K - 8
Smithsonian Learning Lab
There are over a million resources available in the Learning Lab representing the Smithsonian's 19 museums, 9 research center and the National Zoo. Educators can use the content and collections for free.
Grades: 3 - 12
Visible Proofs: Forensic Views of the Body
This website was developed to accompany a now-closed exhibit at the National Library of Medicine. It explores the history of forensic medicine through text, images and literature. Online activities and lesson plans are provided. Some images and videos may be disturbing.
Grades: 6 - 12