Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspapers and Other Periodicals
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection, 1684-1912
This database provides full-text access to over 7,500 historic periodicals published between 1684 and 1912, digitized from the extensive collections of the American Antiquarian Society, a major research library of pre-twentieth century American history and culture. The periodicals cover a vast array of subjects, including agriculture, applied science and technology, art and literature, business, education, music, politics, religion, and women's studies, and they offer students and faculty broad access to unique source material for research into American history and culture prior to the twentieth century. The database contains scanned page images of the original periodicals, and it supports the bookmarking and annotation of individual documents with a personal account, the export of documents to PDF format, and the ability to create direct links to specific documents.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Chronicling America is a web site providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program. Included in the site is a full-text database providing access to almost 15 million pages from 436 U.S. newspapers published between 1836 and 1963. The project continues to add content on a regular basis.
Making of America (at the University of Michigan)
Making of America (MoA) at the University of Michigan is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
Making of America (Cornell University collection at the Hathi Trust)
The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
U.S. Major Daily Newspapers
Full-text access to the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal, 1980-Present.
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective, 1890-1982
Access to citations from over 3 million articles from approximately 375 leading magazines spanning the period from 1890 to 1982. Includes articles from the most widely read popular periodicals of the day, journals of news and opinion, and a selection of research publications. [1890 - 1982]
The Unz Review: An Alternative Media Selection
Large full-text archive of digitized periodicals includes substantial content from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. The interface is somewhat complicated, as it combines searching and "filtering" options, but the content is substantial.