It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
If we don't have what you need, you may want to consider requesting items through Interlibrary Loan. This service is free of charge to WPU students and is a quick and easy way to get hard to find books and articles for your research.
We have a number of general discipline databases (for interdisciplinary topics), as well as a number of Music-specific databases to choose from.Most offer full-text access to articles online, and can be used from off campus.
You can see a complete list of the databases that the Library subscribes to with the Databases tab on our homepage, or by going directly to the Databases page.
Because jazz is a living and evolving art form, you are likely to find resources in scholarly journals, popular and trade magazines, newspapers, and even online. Use a combination of searches to locate those resources that match the scope of your research.
Databases for all M.M. or Music M.B.A. Students
The following databases will be of use to all M.M. and Music M.B.A. students. A number provide general information about many topics, but have some focus in Music, Music Education or the Music Industry. Others cover only music and music-related topics.
Full-text is available in some of the following links, although others are considered 'indexes' and may provide only basic information on an article (title, author, publication, etc.). These can be great resources, as well, showing you articles and research that may not be available in full-text.
Other library 'databases' include overview works (like online encyclopedias), catalogs and research tools are listed in the next section (below).
Music Periodicals DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowBibliographic database containing over 1.3 million citation records for articles from more than 425 international music periodicals, with full-text access for selected titles. The majority of citation records date from 1996 to the present, with approximately 200,000 records covering the period from 1874 to 1995. The database covers a comprehensive range of subject areas in both scholarly and popular music journals. Articles examine the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theater, theory, popular music forms and composition. Articles cover a diverse array of musical genres, from the liturgical chants of medieval monks to the eclectic sounds of contemporary alternative rock musicians. Updated monthly. [1874 - Present]
RILM Abstracts of Music LiteratureThis link opens in a new windowProduced by Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, this comprehensive music bibliography features citations, abstracts and subject indexing to the literature of music. Coverage spans 1967 to the present, and the database is updated monthly. RILM covers articles in over 11,000 journals, many of which are not specifically devoted to music. RILM includes over 700,000 records, and over 40,000 new records are added every year. Citations in RILM represent publications in 214 languages, originating in 155 countries. Titles of works are translated into English, and the majority of records have English abstracts. Increasingly, records also feature abstracts in the original language of publication. [1967 - present]
JSTOR Arts and Sciences Collections (I through IX, and XIV)This link opens in a new windowArchive of over 2,-00 major journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, education, area studies, mathematics and statistics, and much more. Funding for the acquisition of the JSTOR Arts and Sciences V, VI, VIII, and IX Collections was provided by a generous gift from the Student Government Association. [18th Century - Present]
The following resources are overview sources, providing concise information on a variety of topics, but are not generally appropriate for scholarly research.
Oxford Music OnlineThis link opens in a new windowOxford Music Online is a full-text portal to high-quality music reference sources, including the Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, containing over 50,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works. The database also includes the full text of The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Credo Reference's Academic CoreThis link opens in a new windowThe Credo Reference database is a portal to over 1,030 full-text reference titles from over 120 major publishers. Easy to search and browse, the Credo platform provides access to text, images, maps, statistics, and graphic concept maps to illustrate connections among and between topics. The titles, which range across subjects in art, biography, business, geography, history language, law, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, psychology, religion, science, the social sciences, and technology, are fully integrated through the Credo search platform, and the Credo database also provides numerous points for accessing other Cheng Library resources. Credo is a most useful starting point for general research on almost any topic.
Many of our databases can be used to search for articles (although they may also contain other formats), the following are used to locate theses and dissertations:
ProQuest Dissertations and ThesesThis link opens in a new windowThis full-text database includes nearly 3 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over 1 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. [1861 - Present]
Theses and Dissertations @ The William Paterson University of New JerseyThis link opens in a new windowThe product of a collaboration between the Cheng Library and the University's Graduate programs, a collection of over 230 digitized master's theses is now available online through the ProQuest search interface. The majority of titles in the collection are from recent Communication Disorders and Music program graduates, but in 2010 the program is expanding to include other programs and the collection will grow as new theses are submitted for digitization. [2008 - Present]
There are also two databases of streaming audio recordings:
Naxos Music LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe Naxos Music Library is a large online classical music library. It offers streaming audio access to over 100,000 albums and features over 1.4 million tracks covering both standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new albums are added to the library every month. The database offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 650 record labels. Along with classical music, a selection of jazz, world, and pop/rock are also represented. The Naxos Music Library can be accessed from any computer, anywhere, anytime. With the iPhone/iPod and Android mobile apps, subscribers can also access the service on the go, and the HTLM5 player can stream music though the standard internet connection of the most phones and tablets. The contents of the library can be searched by composer, work, genre and label; by keyword search; and by a sophisticated advanced search engine with up to 11 combined search criteria. In addition to the audio, Naxos Music Library provides liner notes for many recordings. Listeners can create personalized playlists or use predefined Naxos Music Library playlists.
Naxos Music Library JazzThis link opens in a new windowNaxos Music Library Jazz is one of the most comprehensive collections of jazz music available online. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises Naxos Jazz, the catalogue of Blue Note Records, and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz along with Prophone and Proprius. It currently offers over 100,000 tracks of jazz from 260 labels, and over 12,000 jazz artists are represented. U.S.-based Fantasy has the world's deepest jazz catalogue and offers the very best in blues and R&B. Blue Note offers albums featuring the legendary artist John Coltrane and iconic artists such as Herbie Hancock, Dexter Gordon, Lee Morgan, Wayne Shorter and many others.
If you find an article in the references of another source, use the Journals A-Z tab on the Library website to search for the journal name (not the name of the article). If we have the journal, you may be able to get the full-text without any other effort! Otherwise, it's a fast and easy process to request a copy through Interlibrary Loan!
If the article is only available in a WPUNJ format (WPUNJ Print, WPUNJ Microfilm, or WPUNJ Microfiche), complete an Article Request Form to have us digitize it for you!.
The Music Index
The Music Index is what we used to find music literature before online databases, and is a print Subject-Author guide.
The library owns copies of the Music Index from 1949-1996, which is about the time that most of our databsaes start indexing articles.
Each volume contains the articles written during that year, and can be searched by title, author/composer/band, or subject.
Remember, if you're researching an older topic, this is a resource that you shouldn't miss!
Be sure to conduct searches in as many volumes as is necessary to cover your topic.
Why not start with Google or Google Scholar? Well, as you may have learned in your library session, a systematic approach to research is often the most fruitful. Starting with authoritative databases can ensure that you find the best, most reliable sources first, to form the foundation of your research.
After that, you'll have a strong understanding of the research, terminology used, and a solid search strategy to take with you to Google Scholar!