LibGuides: MUSI4720: Jazz Seminar: Online Music Resources

Why Not Google?

You might be wondering why you can't just Google the information you are looking for. It's all online, right??

Not so fast! Things to remember about such a BIG search:

Information Overload (too much information to sort through)
Quality v. Quantity (anyone can make a webpage... is the source any good?)
Show Me The Money! (sometimes you'll have to PAY to get the information)

While our databases might be a little different from what you're used to, they can help to eliminate some of these obstacles.

Another way to make searching easier is to stick to trusted sites:

Online Music Resources

Center for Music Research (Florida State University)
This link contains bibliographic information about publications by FSU faculty, as well as links to other online resources that may be of interest.
College Music Society
If you have an interest in college teaching, you should join CMS. This site has information on academic position vacancies, professional development, conferences, publications, international music organizations and other sites that promote music teaching and learning.
Darmstadt Jazz Institute
Write for a free bibliography from the Darmstadt Jazz Institute. Information about this great free service is here, along with some samples of the bibliographies they send out (the ones posted here are old, so be sure to email and request a current one!)
The Jazz Discography (Tom Lord)
Search through the jazz discography by Tom Lord and cut-and-paste into Word the extensive discographical listings of the artists relevant to their research. Now, this one is not free–a subscription is required. If they visit the IJS at my campus they can use it therefor free and e-mail the results to themselves. Also there is an individual subscription option for people who think they'll be using it a lot or want to subscribe for a short time.
JazzStudiesOnline.org
LOTS of sources, with an emphasis on the philosophical and historical.
Music Library Association
Although geared primarily toward music librarianship, this site contains links to publications produced by the MLA.
Music Theory Online
An online journal produced by the Society for Music Theory, with holdings dating back to February 1993. Full content is available on their website.

Institute of Jazz Studies (Rutgers)

Online Music Business Resources

This is a very limited list. See Michael Harrington's list for more resources.

Creative Commons
The Creative Commons site provides information about copyright and its alternatives that are more frequently being used in online (and other) environments.
Future of Music Coalition
A non-profit organization supporting the fair compensation of musicians.
International Intellectual Property Institute
The IIPI is a not-for-profit group "...dedicated to increasing awareness and understanding of the use of intellectual property as a tool for economic growth...".
PD Info (Public Domain Information Project)
This site provides information about music within the public domain (including lists of royalty free and public domain titles) as well as information about copyright.

Statistical Sources

Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistical database that includes many sources on the music industry.

Statista Report on Music Streaming Worldwide (2019)
A report providing statistical information about the global music streaming market, including details on digital radio, major platforms like Spotify and Apple Music, country-specific services and an overview of consumer awareness, consumption, and preferences.
U.S. Music - Statistics & Facts (2019)
A statistical overview of the U.S. music industry covering such topics as sales and revenue, record companies and publishers, the concert business, consumer preferences and behavior, digital music, music videos, the Grammys, and musicians.

MUSI4720: Jazz Seminar: Online Music Resources

Why Not Google?

Online Music Resources

Online Music Business Resources

Statistical Sources

Get More Out of Google