Skip to Main Content

Art: Citing Sources

Art LibGuide

Tools

Art history research papers will usually require one of two citation styles for formatting the paper and citing the sources, the MLA style or the Chicago style.  Always ask your professor if either style is required or preferred. The Cheng Library has books that document both styles.
 
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers 7th edition, 2009
Reference LB2369 .G53 2009
Created by the Modern Language Association (MLA) this style is often used for literature and art history research papers 
(Two copies are available at the Reference Desk. One copy can be found on the second floor that you can check out.)
  

The Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL) offers a detailed guide for the MLA style with many examples for citing different types of resources.

 
The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th edition, 2010
Reference Z253 .U69 2010
The Chicago style for formatting papers and citations is also requested by art history professors. The Cheng Library has a copy of the style manual at the Reference Desk. 
 
A detailed guide for the Chicago style with many examples for citing different types of resources is available at The Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL).

Online help with citation styles

Most of the databases of the Cheng Library include a "Cite" function in the tools menu. To use this tool, click on the "Cite" link while the article citation is displayed on the screen.  A separate window will open.  Select the citation style for your research paper (art history usually uses  MLA or Chicago styles) and then copy and paste the citation into your Notes or Word document.  Because these citations are computer-generated, always the check the citation for potential errors.
The "Cite" window will look something like the example below.
 
A screen capture of the Cite function from the ProQuest Central database.

Additional help with citation styles

Citation Guides from the Cheng Library  
Cheng Library's webpage with information about several citation styles.
 
Annotated Bibliography Guide #1  
Cornell University's webpage about how to write and format an annotated bibliography.
 
Annotated Bibliography Guide #2  
Lesley University's guide to MLA-style annotated bibliographies.
MLA Style Citations (for Bibliographies and In-Text Notes)
University of California Berkeley's detailed guide.

MLA Style Manual -- Frequently Asked Questions  
Modern Language Association's FAQs webpage about MLA style.
 
MLA style guide from UW  
University of Wisconsin at Madison's MLA style guide