Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following databases are relevent to searches for information about art and artists. Several of these databases are not specifically devoted to art, but all will contain articles about art and artists. Some databases will provide current articles about contemporary artists and recent exibitions or rsesarch. For a brief description of each database, click on "View Feed." To see this list of databases at the Cheng Library, click on "View Website." [These databases are restricted to WPUNJ users.]
Database searching tips
- Use the "advanced" search mode.
- Do a keyword search first to see what is available.
- Too many results? Add an additional term or two.
- Too few results? Think of synonyms for your term(s).
- Refine or limit your search to scholarly/peer reviewed articles.
- All databases allow you to print or email your results.
- Use the reference list from an article to locate additional sources.
Finding magazines and journals
You can search for a specific periodical title in the "Journals A-Z" tab from the main Library webpage. You may also browse a list of art-related titles to discover magazines and journals new to you. To browse a list of all periodicals in this subject area, take the following steps:
- Open the Library webpage.
- Chick the tab "Journals A-Z"
- Select Browse by Subject.
- From the drop-down list, select Art, Architecture & Applied Arts. (Highlighted area in the image below)
- Next, focus your search by selecting a subject heading from the list. The number in parentheses indicates the number of journals.
- Each subject heading leads to a list of magazines and journals available electronically in a database (the name of the database is provided) or available at the Cheng Library in the Periodicals Department (WPUNJ Print Holdings).
Cover of Bomb Magazine, Fall 2015. Freely accessible via BOMB Magazine. The archive is available electronically via Jstor.
News, reports, essays, and reviews that discuss and analyze independent photography, film, electronic imaging, and telecommunications.
Original articles on the historical and theoretical study of painting, sculpture, design and other areas of visual imagery.
Art in America
Essential journal on achievements and criticism of contemporary art, particularly in painting, sculpture, photography, and prints.
Features on art, film, art criticism, book reviews, and exhibition reviews with an international scope. Available in print in the Periodicals Department.
BOMB is published quarterly and is edited by artists and writers. It consists predominately of interviews between creative people working in a variety of disciplines: visual art, literature, music, film, theater and architecture.
Ceramics: Art and Perception
Designed and published quarterly by Ceramic Art.
Craft Arts International
Essential journal for the study of contemporary craft.
International Journal of Design
The International Journal of Design is devoted to publishing research papers in all fields of design, including visual communication design, interface design, animation and game design, architectural design, urban design, and other design related fields.
Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism
Articles on the arts from a philosophic, scientific, or theoretical standpoint, such as psychology, sociology, anthropology, and cultural history.
Journal of Visual Art Practice
Covers all aspects of fine art education.