Skip to main content

New Jersey History Day - Local History Resources: Web-Based Digital Collections

A guide for students researching New Jersey and Paterson area topics for New Jersey History Day projects

Web-Based Digital Collections

American History Online
American History Online, a project of the Andrew W. Mellon foundation and the University of Illinois, provides scholars with access to distributed historical digital library collections. OVer 360 collections are currently accessible through this search and browse portal, and over 416,000 items - representing over 70 percent of all materials in these collections - are from the 20th century. The primary source materials available through this portal include photographs and cultural materials, books and pamphlets, journal articles, maps, short music videos, data sets, political cartoons and posters, and oral histories.


AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
A large and growing directory of links to historical documents on the web, organized chronologically. Maintained by by George Laughead Jr., manager of the World Wide Web Virtual Library for United States History.
http://www.vlib.us/amdocs/


American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
American Memory is a large-scale project of the Library of Congress to make available multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library's Americana collections. Over 100 historical collections are now available through this site, including over seven million digitized items (e.g., maps, pamphlets, sheet music, photographs, broadsides, films, sound recordings, notebooks, periodicals and manuscripts). Among the many notable collections in American Memory is Working in Paterson: Occupational Heritage in an Urban Setting.
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amhome.html


American Women: A Gateway to Library of Congress Resources for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States
This site "contains a slightly expanded and fully searchable version of the print publication 'American Women: A Library of Congress Guide for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States' ... with added illustrations and links to existing digitized material located throughout the Library of Congress Web site." Includes books, maps, manuscripts, music, images, and other research materials. Browsable and searchable. From the American Memory Project of the Library of Congress. [Librarians' Internet Index]
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/awhhtml/


The Industrial Revolution in Paterson, NJ (from the OurStory project)
the OurStory project was a grant-funded initiative designed to increase achievement and interest in American history. Among the resources developed for the project was a web site covering numerous topics in the history curriculum. Each topic site contains a selection of primary sources, secondary sources, visual aids, lesson plans, and a bibliography. This page deals with the industrial revolution in Paterson.
http://sites.bergen.org/ourstory/resources/paterson/trains/Pat_Industry.htm


New Deal Network
The New Deal Network is a research and teaching resource devoted to the public works and arts projects of the New Deal. At the core of the site is a database of primary source materials - photographs, political cartoons, and texts (speeches, letters, and other historic documents) - gathered from the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library, the National Archives and Records Administration, the Library of Congress, and other sources. Currently there are over 20,000 items in this database, many of them previously accessible only to scholars. Unlike many databases on the Web, which represent the holdings of a particular institution, the New Deal Network is drawing from a wide variety of sources around the country to create a theme-based archive.


New Jersey Digital Collections (from the New Jersey State Library)
A substantial collection of scanned historical documents and publications from the New Jersey State Library. This list includes both primary and secondary sources. Among the more important primary source documents for Paterson history are the "Annual Report of the Inspector of Factories and Workshops, 1883-1904," containing details on child labor in textile factories and related issues of health and safety; and the "Bureau of Statistics of Labor and Industries of New Jersey Annual Reports, 1878-1917," containing many details (and not just statistics!) about workers and industries.
http://slic.njstatelib.org/NJ_Information/Digital_Collections


New Jersey Digital Highway
The New Jersey Digital Highway (NJDH) offers a "one stop shop" portal for New Jersey history and culture, from the collections of NJ libraries, museums, archives and historical societies. The heart of NJDH is its digital collection, reflecting the richness and diversity of New Jersey's historical and cultural heritage. Collections in NJDH are contributed by its collection partners - the libraries, museums, archives, historical societies and other organizations who share resources with users within the state and around the world through NJDH.
http://www.njdigitalhighway.org/


New Jersey History Partnership
The New Jersey History Partnership website is designed to help social studies teachers implement recent revisions to New Jersey’s core curriculum content standards by integrating New Jersey content into their American history courses. In-depth online lectures give teachers the opportunity to acquire new content knowledge. Model lessons demonstrate how they might share this content with their students. Excerpts from radio and television documentaries provide teachers with lively ways of telling their students about New Jersey history. A timeline that integrates United States and New Jersey history helps students place state history into a national context. Interactive exercises and virtual tours allow students to learn more about topics that interest them. Of special interest for Paterson history are the sections on "Alexander Hamilton and the Society for Establishing Useful Manufactures," "Factory workers in Paterson," and "The Paterson silk strike."\
http://njhistorypartnership.org/home_page.html


New York Public Library Digital Gallery
The New York Public Library Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
http://digitalgallery.nypl.org/nypldigital/index.cfm


The Paterson Silk Strike (from the OurStory project)
the OurStory project was a grant-funded initiative designed to increase achievement and interest in American history. Among the resources developed for the project was a web site covering numerous topics in the history curriculum. Each topic site contains a selection of primary sources, secondary sources, visual aids, lesson plans, and a bibliography. This page deals with the 1913 silk strike in Paterson.
http://sites.bergen.org/ourstory/resources/paterson/strike/Strike_Industry.htm


Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (Library of Congress)
The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints and Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship. The collections of the Prints and Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
http://www.loc.gov/pictures/


Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website