Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Jersey History Day - Local History Resources: Bibliographies / Guides to Historical Literature

A guide for students researching New Jersey and Paterson area topics for New Jersey History Day projects

Bibliographies and Guides to Historical Literature

The American Revolution and New Jersey: a bibliography / Donald A. Sinclair, Grace W. Schut, and Rutgers University. Libraries. Special Collections and Archives. - New Brunswick, N.J.: Special Collections and University Archives, Rutgers University Libraries, 1995. - ID: 4535; compiled by Donald Arleigh Sinclair and Grace W. Schut ; with much help from Catharine M. Fogarty and Robert Blackwell.; Includes index. - Call Number: E263.N5 S7 1995


A bibliography: the Civil War and New Jersey / Donald A. Sinclair, and New Jersey. Civil War Centennial Commission. - New Brunswick: Friends of the Rutgers University Library for the New Jersey Civil War Centennial Commission, 1968. - ID: 4536; 019: 917785; by Donald A. Sinclair.; Civil War and New Jersey. - Call Number: Z1313 .S5


Books, pamphlets and newspapers printed at Newark, New Jersey, 1776-1900 / Frank Pierce Hill, and Varnum Lansing Collins. - Newark: Private press of Courier-Citizen company, 1902. - ID: 4538; A list complied by Frank Pierce Hill and Varnum Lansing Collins. Privately printed.; 1553 titles, arranged chronologically; followed by index of printers, authors and titles.; Running title: Newark imprints.; "Edition limited to three hundred copies."; Appendix; titles obtained too late for insertion in the body of the book: p. [238]-269.; Newark imprints. - Call Number: Z1314.N3 H5


Books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed or published in New Jersey, 1801-1819: not recorded in Shaw and Shoemaker's American bibliography / George C. Rockefeller, and Donald Arthur Sinclair. - New Brunswick, N.J.: Archibald Stevens Alexander Library, Rutgers University, 1980. - ID: 4537; compiled by George C. Rockefeller ; edited by Donald A. Sinclair.; Bibliography: p. 6. - Call Number: Z209.N55 R62 1980


Directory of New Jersey newspapers, 1765-1970 / William C. Wright, Paul A. Stellhorn, and New Jersey Historical Commission. - Trenton: New Jersey Historical Commission, 1977. - ID: 4539; edited by William C. Wright, Paul A. Stellhorn.; Includes index.; Bibliography: p. 273-276. - Call Number: Z6952.N54 D57


Education and schools in New Jersey before 1900: a guide to pertinent resources in the Rutgers University Special Collections and University Archives : contemporary publications, 1788-1899, and historical or commemorative compilations / Rutgers University. Libraries. Special Collections and University Archives, and Donald A. Sinclair. - New Brunswick N.J.: Special Collections and University Archives, Rutgers University, 1998. - ID: 4540; by Donald Arleigh Sinclair.; Includes index. - Call Number: LB2315.N57 R88 1998


Guide to the manuscript collections of the New Jersey Historical Society / Don C. Skemer, and Robert Charles Morris. - Newark, N.J.: New Jersey Historical Society, 1979. - ID: 4541; compiled by Don C. Skemer and Robert C. Morris.; Collections of the New Jersey Historical Society ; v. 15. - Call Number: F131 .N62 v.15


An index to the magazine New Jersey history: through 1966 called Proceedings of the New Jersey Historical Society : volumes 1 through 110, 1845-1992 / Donald A. Sinclair, and Rutgers University. Libraries. Special Collections and Archives. - Metuchen N.J.; Newark: Upland Press; with the Newark Public Library, 1996. - ID: 4542; compiled by Donald Arleigh Sinclair for the Rutgers Special Collections and University Archives.; Proceedings of the New Jersey Historical Society Indexes. - Call Number: F131 .N58 Index


The Italians of New Jersey: a historical introduction and bibliography / Dennis J. Starr. - Newark: New Jersey Historical Society, 1985. - ID: 4543; by Dennis J. Starr.; "Published with funds from the New Jersey Committee for the Humanities, Friends of the Society, and an anonymous grant dedicated to the memory of Delia Brinkerhoff Koster."; Bibliography: p. 64-71.; Includes index. - Call Number: F145.I8 S72 1985


New Jersey and the writing of the U.S. Constitution: the signers : a bibliography / New Jersey State Library, and Helen A. Kehoe. - Trenton, NJ: The Library, 1987. - ID: 4544; compiled and annotated by Helen A. Kehoe.; "April 1987.". - Call Number: F134 .N49 1987


New Jersey ethnic history: a bibliography / David Steven Cohen. - Trenton: New Jersey Historical Commission, Dept. of State, 1986. - ID: 4545; compiled by David Steven Cohen.; Includes index. - Call Number: Z1313 .C63 1986


New Jersey history: an annotated and selected introductory bibliography / Mary R. Murrin, Richard Waldron, and New Jersey Historical Commission. - Rev ed. Trenton: New Jersey Historical Commission, Dept. of State, 1995. - ID: 4546; compiled Mary R. Murrin and Richard Waldron.; Title from cover. -

New Jersey newspapers and newspaper journalism: a bibliography / Donald A. Sinclair. - Metuchen N.J.; Newark: Upland Press; Newark Public Library, 1996. - ID: 4547; by Donald Arleigh Sinclair.; Includes index. - Call Number: Z6951 .S46 1996


New Jersey women, 1770-1970: a bibliography / Elizabeth Steiner-Scott, and Elizabeth Pearce Wagle. - Rutherford: Fairleigh Dickinson University Press, 1978. - ID: 4548; compiled by Elizabeth Steiner-Scott and Elizabeth Pearce Wagle.; Includes index. - Call Number: HQ1438.N5 W34


Resources of Paterson history: an annotated bibliography / Helen A. Kehoe, and Paterson Free Public Library. - Paterson, N.J.: Paterson Free Public Library, 1986. - ID: 4549; compiled and annotated by Helen A. Kehoe.; Annotated bibliography. - Call Number: Z1314.P4 K45 1986


A topical guide to materials for teaching New Jersey history in the elementary, middle, and high schools / David Steven Cohen, and New Jersey Historical Commission. - Trenton, N.J.: New Jersey Historical Commission, Dept. of State, 1999. - ID: 4550; David S. Cohen.; Cover title.; "June 1999.". -

Subject Guide

Richard Kearney's picture
Richard Kearney
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
973-720-2165
Website