Chronicling America is a prototype web site providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program. The site now provides access to more than 4.1 million searchable newspaper pages from 581 newspaper titles, published in 25 states and the District of Columbia between 1836 and 1922. The project will continue to add content until newspapers from every U.S. state are included.
Directory of New Jersey Newspapers, 1765-1970 / edited by William C. Wright, Paul A. Stellhorn. - Trenton: New Jersey Historical Commission, 1977. - xxi, 319 p. : facsim. ; 26 cm. - Includes index. - Call Number: REF Z6952.N54D57
A useful compilation of the newspapers published in New Jersey from the colonial period through 1970, organized by place of publication. Somewhat dated, but still a good source to use for identifying historical newspapers and the libraries that own them.
Making of America Collection is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The project represents a major collaborative endeavor in preservation and electronic access to historical texts. The Making of America collection comprises the digitized pages of books and journals. This system allows you to view scanned images of the actual pages of the 19th century texts. The current collection includes the following:
Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The current collection includes the following:
American Jewess 1895-1899 (hosted on behalf of the Jewish Women's Archive)
Appleton's 1869-1881 (2 series)
Catholic World 1865-1901
DeBow's 1846-1869 + 1952 index (3 series)
Garden and Forest 1888-1897 (hosted on behalf of the Library of Congress)
Journal of the United States Association of Charcoal Iron Workers 1880-1891
Ladies Repository 1841-1876 (3 series)
The Old Guard 1864
Overland Monthly 1868-1900 (2 series)
Princeton Review 1831-1882 (3 series)
Southern Literary Messenger 1835-1864 + 1936 Contributor index
The National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of all U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Supported by NEH, this rich digital resource will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress. An NEH grant program will fund the contribution of content from, eventually, all U.S. states and territories.
Index to the New York Times. Can also be used to identify relevant articles for the period from 1923 through 1979, with access to the newspaper available on microfilm in the Library's Periodicals Deaprtment.
This directory is organized by state, focusing on newspapers that maintain archives of older content online. Where possible, the directory indicates how far back content is available, along with any costs to retrieve the full text of articles.
Electronic Resources Librarian
Reference and Information Services Office, Room 107g
David and Lorraine Cheng Library
William Paterson University
300 Pompton Road
Wayne, NJ 07470
