Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Other Citation Resources
- Style/Citation Guides
RefWorks is a web-based, personalized system for managing citations and notes for research projects of any size. It can be used to add citation records from online catalogs, databases and other sources, as well as to produce bibliographies formatted in any major style.
RefWorks workshops are offered throughout the year. For a list of this semester's sessions, visit the Library Workshop page.
RefWorks can be accessed from the databases link on the main Library page or with this link.
Electronic Text Archives
These are additional web resources that may assist you with your English research. This list has been selected by our liaison to the English Department and include information about specific collections.
American Verse Project (University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative)
This ongoing project to build an electronic archive of American poetry originally published prior to 1920.
London-based text archive contains hundreds of searchable full-text works of classic fiction, popular fiction, short stories, drama, poetry, dictionaries, research and religious texts.
British Poetry 1780-1910: A Hypertext Archive of Scholarly Editions
Includes works by Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Lewis Carroll, Ann Batten Cristall, Alfred Edward Housman, and Alfred, Lord Tennyson.
The Complete Works of William Shakespeare
Full-text index to Shakespeare's works based at MIT. Rated 4-Stars by Magellan.
Early American Fiction
A publicly-available collection of 70 works by 16 authors. Includes works by Lydia Maria Child, James Fenimore Cooper, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Washington Irving, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, Edgar Allan Poe, William Gilmore Simms, and others.
The EServer (formerly The English Server)
Based at the University of Washington, the EServer is a progressive student-run cooperative which has been publishing humanities texts to millions of readers online since 1990.
Modern English Collection (1500-Present)
This collection, provided through the UVA's Electronic Text Center, contains fiction, non-fiction, poetry, manuscripts and illustrations (1500 to the present).
The On-Line Books Page
The On-Line Books Page is a directory of books that can be freely read right on the Internet.
The oldest and (perhaps) largest free electronic text archive, Project Gutenberg provides all of its documents in "Plain Vanilla ASCII" to maximize ease of access and use.
Wright American Fiction, 1851-1875
Full-text digital archive based on Lyle H. Wright's American Fiction, 1851-1875: A Contribution Toward a Bibliography (Call Number: REF Z1231.F4W92). The collection is a comprehensive storehouse of American adult fiction.