Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These databases focus on literature and are the best first places to search for journal articles and other criticism not published in books:
For additional articles from literary journals, you can supplement searches in these databases with searches in:
Authors: Their Lives and Their Work
This list of web resources can assist you with your author research. You can also consult the databases available online (see Important Databases) to the left or you can click on Cheng's Journals and Periodicals.
A Celebration of Women Writers
This site is designed to recognize the contributions of women writers throughout history. A goal of the site is to promote awareness of the breadth and variety of women's writing.
Geoffrey Chaucer Website Homepage
Created for Harvard University's Chaucer classes, this site "provides a wide range of glossed Middle English texts and translations of analogues relevant to Chaucer's works."
Samuel Taylor Coleridge Archive
Wonderful online resource created by Marjorie A. Tiefert contains a generous selection of Coleridge's work, including poetry, literary criticism, political commentary and journalism, and letters.
Dickinson Electronic Archives
Website devoted to the study of Emily Dickinson, her writing practices, writings directly influencing her work, and critical and creative writings generated by her work. Access to some portions of the site require a password (available on request from the editors).
Center for Faulkner Studies
The Center for Faulkner Studies, based at Southeast Missouri State University, sponsors and supports educational, scholarly and public service projects related to William Faulkner, the South and American and world literatures.
Faulkner Consolidated Search
Part of the William Faulkner on the Web, this search feature locates articles on a number of Faulkner-related websites.
Edgae Allen Poe Resources
This site is maintained by the Raven Society, has links to Poe Resources and UVA's Special Collection of Poe's manuscripts.
World Shakespeare Bibliography
Please note that access to this database is restricted to currently enrolled students, faculty and staff.
Mark Twain in His Times
Interpretive archive, drawn largely from the resources of the Barrett Collection, focuses on how "Mark Twain" and his works were created and defined. The site features texts, manuscripts, six full-length novels; contemporary reviews and articles; images and interactive displays.
The Walt Whitman Hypertext Archive
This site offers information on Whitman's life, works, and critical reception. The site intends to offer a complete online collection of all eight editions of Leaves of Grass and of Whitman's prose works, and some of this material is already available for use.