Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These databases focus on literature and are the best first places to search for journal articles and other criticism not published in books:
For additional articles from literary journals, you can supplement searches in these databases with searches in:
English & Literature Databases
This is an excellent list of databases available to you to help jumpstart your English and Literature research. You can access these databases 24/7 from anywhere with your WPU login information. Contact the Reference Desk at (973) 720-2116 if you need help finding articles.
English and Literature Databases
The Library also provides browsable and searchable lists of journals in language and literature in its Journals and Periodicals Directory. The Directory is most useful for checking the availability of a specific journal when you have a citation. The following links will take you to the directory's lists of journals in subject areas relevant to English language and literary studies:
World Shakespeare Bibliography
This bibliographic database provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1964 and the present.
Reference Works in British and American Literature
James K. Bracken
REF PR83.B74 [ONLINE] [electronic resource] / Includes bibliographical references and indexes. Available via World Wide Web. Access is limited to NetLibrary affiliated libraries.